It was the biggest game of my son’s senior year of high school, as his team battled toward the State Championship title against their biggest rival. He was playing tougher and harder than I’d ever seen him play. Then, suddenly he dropped to the ground, writhing in pain. He had suffered a major knee injury that would require surgery and rehab that would keep him from playing sports for the remainder of his senior year.

A few days after the injury, I saw one of my son’s teammates who expressed concern for my son. He said to tell my son, “Right side, strong side.” That was a football saying I hadn’t heard before, so he explained. “I played on your son’s right side, so I would tell him ‘Right side, strong side.’  Now I’m praying for him, so I’m his right side, strong side.”

I’ve thought about that conversation many times. My son’s friend is right. When someone prays for us, they are our “Right side, strong side.”

I believe in the power of prayer and that prayer can change things.  Knowing others are praying for us can give us hope and a sense of comfort and strength. 

As Christians, we have a “Right side, strong side” through Jesus and the Holy Spirit.  The Bible tells us that while on this earth, Jesus looked up to the heavens and said to God: “I am praying for them (believers). I am not praying for the world but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours.” (John 17:9)  The Book of Romans says , “Likewise, the Spirit helps us in our weakness.  For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.” (Romans 8:26) This verse tells us that when we need to pray, but don’t have the words or know what to say, the Holy Spirit intercedes in prayer on our behalf.  

And where is Jesus?  Seated at the right hand of the throne of God (Hebrews 12:2).  Jesus said…But I tell you, from now on you will see the Son of Man seated at the right hand of Power…” (Matthew 26:68)   Right side, strong side, all right! 

My son’s team went on to win the 2013 State Championship title.  When we allow Jesus to be our right side, strong side, we will be victorious, too. 

The teammate mentioned above is going into his freshman year as a football player for UNC.  I’ll be praying for him.  Right side, strong side. 

To find more verses about prayer, go to http://www.BibleGateway.com , enter keyword “prayer”. 

