Choose this day whom you will serve…as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.  (Joshua 24:15)

That was God’s response to me after sharing with Him my concerns for current events in the news.  I questioned the loyalties of our nation’s leaders, worried about deals that seem to be made with our enemies, and wondered how we’ve become such a violent nation.  I remembered the fate of the Israelites in the Old Testament.  When they were loyal to God, He was with them, provided for them, protected them from their enemies, and led them through times of peace.  However, when they turned away from God, worshiped idols and followed ungodly leaders, God allowed them to suffer consequences and eventually handed them over to their enemies.  Is that what’s about to happen to us, God?  Please don’t let that happen.  Surely you see there are many of us who are devoted to You.  What can we do?

God responded by drawing my attention to the words of Joshua 24:15.  Choose this day whom you will serve…as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.

I might not be able to take on the world’s matters, but I/we can do what matters most in this world, claim allegiance to our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

Victory is ours in Christ alone.

If you want to know more:  After Moses was taken by the Lord, it was Joshua who was called to lead the Israelites into the Promised Land.  Joshua was a brave warrior who found victory by being faithful to God.  He saved the Israelites by making sure they were devoted to the LORD, too.  Learn more about Joshua and experience mighty acts of God by reading the Book of Joshua in the Bible (6th book in the Old Testament).  The verse above is from the 24th (final) chapter.  To read online, go to http://www.BibleGateway.com.

