Oh, there’s nothing like sunlight streaming in through the windows to expose the dust and dirt in our house.  Yesterday it was dust covering the countertops and stove surface (that I’d just wiped down the night before).  The day before it was the hardwood floors where dirt and pet hair were gathering along the cabinets (where I’d just swept the day before).  Today it was the steps and spindles of the staircase (more dust and pet hairs).  Ugh.

Each time this happened I stopped what I was doing and cleaned the exposed areas, as well as the surrounding areas, too.   Although not thrilled to do it, I have to admit it felt good when I was done.  Then I was thankful the sun had revealed areas that needed more attention.

It’s like that with Christ, too.  His light shines upon us, even makes its way inside us, and exposes the places within our heart and soul where we need to do a little cleaning.  It’s a good thing!  Rather than letting problems, concerns, worries, hurts, anger, fear and other “dirt” build up inside us, we stop the mess and wipe it away.  The best part is that Jesus does the hard part!  When we surrender our messy selves to Him, He cleans away the old and offers a clean, new start.

What better time than now, during this Season of Lent (no pun intended!), to let the Son shine in and do a little spring cleaning in preparation for the celebration of Easter.

Lord, you have brought light to my life, my God, you light up my darkness.   – Psalm 18:28

Create in me a clean heart, O God.  Renew a right spirit within me.   – Psalm 51:10

Don’t keep looking at my sins.  Remove the stain of my guilt.  – Pslam 51:9

“Come now,” says the Lord.  “No matter how deep the stain of your sins, I can remove it.  I can make you clean as freshly fallen snow.  Even if you are stained as red as crimson, I can make you white as wool.”  – Isaiah 1:18

That’s what Easter and the salvation of Christ is all about.  Praise be to God!

 

