“Whatever you do, do everything for God’s glory.”    ~ 1 Corinthians 10:31

It’s that time of year again!  Time to arm yourself with loads of candy canes and become a Candy Cane Crusader for Christ!

A Candy Cane Crusader for Christ is someone who gives out candy canes and cheerfully says, “Merry Christmas!”

I was first inspired to do this after learning that many retail stores, restaurants, and business establishments were no longer allowing their employees to say, “Merry Christmas”.  I was appalled!   Since then, some businesses have gone even farther by omitting the word ‘Christmas’ from their ads and displays.  For instance, they advertise Christmas trees, but call them ‘holiday trees’.  What?!  Christmas is what it’s all about!

“Well,” I thought, “they can’t say Merry Christmas to me, but I can say it to them!”  That’s when I became a Candy Cane Crusader for Christ!   I started handing out candy canes and saying, “Merry Christmas!”   The candy cane symbolizes Jesus Christ, so when I share a candy cane, I’m sharing Jesus, too.

For eight years now I’ve been keeping a stash of mini candy canes in my purse.  I give out as many as I can throughout the day to people I encounter.  Often I prepare them ahead of time by attaching  a copy of the Legend of the Candy Cane.  In addition to sharing candy canes with those who assist you at cash registers, put a smile on the face of a teenager at the drive-up window by giving hmi/her a candy cane and say, “Merry Christmas!”  Better yet, give that person a whole handful and tell him/her to share them with the rest of their crew!   Candy canes cheer up grumpy shoppers and fussy chidren, reward kids you catch being good, and are great to share with others while you wait in lines. It always makes people smile, and sometimes it’s just what someones needs to give them a little ‘pick me up’. We keep candy canes in our newspaper box with a note telling passers by to help themselves.  I attach the Legend of the Candy Cane poem about Jesus on those.

One year our family gave out over 1,000 candy canes with the Legend of the Candy Cane poem attached!  Most were given to With Love from Jesus run by Joy McGuire.  Joy and her helpers shared them when they ministered to homeless people and people in shelters on Christmas Eve.  She fed them cups of hot chili, gave each person a gift, shared the Gospel with them, and passed out the candy canes!   Friends from church pitched in and we donated over 3,000 candy canes to Joy to use for her Christmas Eve ministries.

C’mon and join us!  Become a Candy Cane Crusader for Christ and start giving out candy canes, too!  Remember, when you do, you’re not just keeping Christ in Christmas, you’re sharing Christ, too!

Here are two Candy Cane Poems about Jesus you can print to attach to your candy canes.  I can also email you a page already typed with multiple copies of the poem on one page so that all you have to do is print, cut, and attach.  Just send me an email request, and I’ll respond with the Candy Cane poem attachment. (See email address below.)

THE CANDY CANE  (1)

Look at the Candy Cane, What do you see?

Stripes that are red like the blood shed for me.

White is for my Savior, Who is sinless and pure.

“J” is for Jesus, my Lord, that’s for sure!

Turn it around and a staff you will see,

Jesus my Shepherd was born for ME!

THE CANDY CANE (2)

It’s just a little Christmas treat, but also did you know?

It represents our Savior born so long ago.

The shape is like a “J” to symbolize His name.

The white is for His life, holy without blame.

The stripe of red is for His blood so pure and freely given,

That we might spend eternity with our Lord in heaven!

Please let me know if you become a Candy Cane Crusader for Christ, too!   You can reply to this post or send me an email to ReneeMyers@carolina.rr.com

CHRISTmas blessings to all!

