Perhaps nothing is harder for a parent/grandparent/caregiver, than sending children off to a destination without them -even/especially when it’s school.  Whether it’s the first day of preschool, elementary, middle school, high school, or college, sending children off to school can be a time of anxiety, worries and fears for  parents.

Even if we’ve done all we can to prepare children for the endeavors they’ll face, parents and loved ones can’t help but worry about their children.  Will they find their way?  Be safe? Be able to keep up?  Peform well?  Make friends?  Handle difficult situations? Make good choices?  Resist temptations?

When we experience any of these concerns, it’s time for us to “let go and let God” – and that’s a good thing!  We have to let go, but God never does!  As much as we love our kids, God loves them even more!

Despite our certainty that we know what’s best for our kids, the truth is we don’t.  As their Creator, only God truly knows the plans and purposes He has for them, so only He knows what they need, the path they must take, and how best to get them where they need to go.  As parents, we have to seek God’s guidance and follow His lead, trusting that Father really does know best!

The Bible is full of scriptural promises and truths that assure us of these things.  Following are some of my favorites.  Pray these verses for your children by inserting their names and claiming these truths for them.  Keep them handy for quick reference.

The LORD gave me a message.  He said, “I knew you (your child’s name)  before I formed you in your mother’s womb.  Before you were born I set you apart…”   – Jeremiah 1:4-5

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my(your child’s name) body and knit me together in my mother’s womb.  Thank you for making me (him/her) so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous – and how well I know it.  You watched me (child’s name) as I(he/she) was being formed in utter seclusion, as I(he/she) was woven together in the dark of the womb.  You saw me (him/her) before I(he/she) was born…   – Psalm 139:13-16

How precious are your thoughts about me, O God!…And when I wake up in the morning, you are still with me!   – Psalm 139:17, 18

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD.  “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”  – Jeremiah 29:11

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways, acknowledge him, and he will direct your path.   – Proverbs 3:5-6

I have set the LORD always before me.  Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.  – Psalm 16:8

We say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.  What can man do to me?  – Hebrews 13:6

Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the LORD is the one who goes before you.  He will be with you; he will neither fail you nor forsake you.   – Deuteronomy 31:8

You chart the path ahead of me and tell me where to stop and rest.  Every moment you know where I am…You both precede and follow me.  You place your hand of blessing on my head.    – Psalm 139:3,5

Father God, thank You for being the God of these truths, a God who loves our children infinitely more than we do.  After all, they were Your children before they were ours, and they do not truly belong to us.  You have entrusted them into our care.  Thank you for blessing us with the lives of our children.  Help us to help them as they face new challenges and endeavors; and help us to trust in Your Divine and Providential ways, knowing that wherever our kids go, whatever they do, we can call on You to be with them, for You are with them always, never leaving nor forsaking them.  We thank You for all these things and lift our children to You in love, praying in the name of Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior.  To You, oh LORD, be all glory and honor.  Amen. 

RELATED POST:  Coaching Kids for the ‘Big Game’, archives March 2007

SUGGESTED READING:

The Bible

The Power of a Praying Parent by Stormie O’Martian

Praying the Scriptures for Your Children and Praying the Scriptures for Your Teens by Jodie Berndt

