While we’re on the topic of love, I have to share an interesting experience I had at church this morning.  It was Scouts Sunday, when young men from the Cub/Boy Scouts Troop sponsored by our church assist with worship services.  They presented the Colors (flags), then led the congregation in the Pledge of Allegiance to the American flag, a Pledge of Allegiance to the Christian flag, and then a Pledge of Allegiance to the Bible.

I’d never said the Pledge of Allegiance to the Christian flag or to the Bible before, and something unexpected happened when I started saying the Pledge to the Bible.  My eyes filled with tears and I started to cry!  (Yes, it was embarassing and I hoped no one around me saw, but hey, it was for the Bible.)  I knew I loved the Bible, but I didn’t realize how much until that moment.  How thankful I am for that amazing Book and the many ways it has blessed my life.

In case you’re interested, here are the words to the Pledge to the Bible:

I pledge allegiance to the Bible, God’s Holy Word, I will make it a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path and will hide its words in my heart that I might not sin against God.

