Celebrating 14 Days of Love as we approach Valentine’s Day with Bible verses about love.

DAY 9:

1 Corinthians 13:1-3   

If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.

If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing.

If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

These verses are telling us that no matter how talented or gifted we might be, or how well we present ourselves to others, if we don’t have love we will not resonate well with others.  We will be no better than a reverberating gong or clanging symbols – offensive sounds!

Even if we have the gift of prophecy – the ability to speak God’s messages to others, the gift of knowledge, or even amazingly great faith, we are nothing if we don’t have love.

And it doesn’t matter if we earn a Nobel prize for mission works or if we’re the most generous person on earth, we gain nothing if we don’t have love.

God looks at our hearts.  With Valentine’s Day approaching, let your heart be filled with His love!

(Today’s verses were taken from Biblegateway.com’s NIV verse of the day.  For more go to www.biblegateway.com )

 

