Let’s celebrate 14 Days of Love as we approach Valentine’s Day with ‘love’ verses from the Bible.

DAY 3:

Jesus replied, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment.  And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’  All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”   – Matthew 22:37

Usually I get the daily newspaper when our boys leave for school.  However, recently I was sick and didn’t pick up the paper until later in the day.  On the third day I was pleasantly surprised to find the paper sitting near the garage door.  This happened again the next day, too.  Later I got a phone call from a neighbor who lives on an adjacent street.  She wanted to be sure I’d found the papers she had taken up to the house.  She noticed them when she went by walking her dogs and wanted to make sure I was ok.  As soon as she learned I was home sick, she asked if there was anything else she could do for me.

I was touched by her kindness, especially since we don’t see each other very often.  In the busyness of her days, she’d taken time out to do something nice for me, not even knowing I was home sick.   She showed lovingkindness to her neighbor, just like the Bible instructs us to do.

In this case, the ‘neighbor’ (me) really was a neighbor, but when Jesus spoke to his followers about loving their neighbor, He meant everyone!  We’re supposed to show  love to everyone – not just our family and friends.

Perhaps there’s someone near you who could use a loving gesture.  Or maybe God will bring someone along you don’t even know who could benefit from your kindness. Remember, we’re to love others as we love ourselves.

 

 

