Happy New Year!

What are your hopes, aspirations, and plans for 2012?  I’m not one to make resolutions, but I do like to see the New Year as a time for a fresh start.  2011 is so last year now.  Let’s put it behind us and start the NEW YEAR by being reNEWed!

We might not be able to change some of the realities of our situations and the world around us, but we can change our circumstances by changing the way we see ourselves and our situations…by renewing our minds, our thoughts, attitudes and perspectives.

  • Let’s renew our minds so that we have hope for 2012!
  • Let’s renew our hearts and give thanks for all that we do have instead of focusing on what we don’t have!
  • Let’s renew our spirit and make the most of what we can do, instead of being limited by what we think we can’t do!
  • Let’s renew our souls allow God to make all things possible!

This kind of renewal can only be found in Christ.  Sure, I can be hopeful, thankful and positive on my own; but to truly be renewed I must go to God in prayer and seek transformation through Christ, my Lord and Savior.  Following are Bible verses you can claim in prayer and keep handy for encouragement.  I’m also sharing the prayer led by our Senior Pastor, Terry Moore, in church on Sunday, Jan 1, 2012, seeking renewal of personal covenant with God.

Seek first the Kingdom of God.

Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.  –  Matthew 6:33 (NLT)

Allow yourself to be transformed.

Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think.  Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.    – Romans 12:2 (NLT)

Give thanks and praise God.

Do you see what we’ve got?  An unshakable kingdom!  And do you see how thankful we must be? Not only thankful, but brimming with worship, deeply reverent before God.    – Hebrews 12:27  (MSG)

Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.   – 1 Thessalonians 5:18  (NIV)

Make the most of what you can do.

I can do everything through Christ who , who gives me strength.  – Philippians 4:13 (NLT)

Open yourself up to the possibilities of what God can do!

…for with God, all things are possible.   – Mark 10:27

PRAYER FOR RENEWED COVENANT WITH GOD (Shared as printed in the church bulletin of Weddington United Methodist Church, Jan 1, 2012):

“Leader: In the old covenant, God chose Israel to be a special people and to obey the law.  Our Lord Jesus Christ, by His death and resurrection, has made a new covenant with all who trust in Him…Let us give ourselves completely to God, trusting in His promises and relying on His grace.

All:  I give myself completely to You, God.  Assign me to my place in your creation.  Let me suffer for You.  Give me the work you would have me do.  Give me many tasks or have me step aside while You call others.  Put me forward or humble me.  Give me riches or let me live in poverty.  I freely give all that I am and all that I have to You.  And now, holy God, Father, Son and Holy Spirit, You are mine and I am Yours.  So be it.  May this covenant made on earth continue for all eternity.  Amen. ”

 

Dear friends,  May God bless you and keep you; and by His grace, may you be refreshed and renewed in the love of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  All glory be to God.  Amen.         New Year blessings to all!  – Renee

