All scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.   ~  2 Timothy 3:16-17

I’m so excited!  I just found my missing Bible!  PRAISE!!!   And just like the woman in the parable of the Lost Coin (Luke 15:8-10), I have to share my joy!

  Have you ever lost something you cherished?  Have you ever been surprised at how much you missed it after it was gone?  That’s what I’ve been experiencing the past few days since losing my Bible. 

I knew my Bible was precious to me.  I’d just told a group of women in Bible study that even though it’s so worn that pages are literally falling out, I can’t bring myself to replace it with a new one.  Yes, I KNEW my Bible was precious to me, but I had no idea how much it would bother me to be without it.  Why did it bother me so much?

I discovered that being without my Bible is like being without a special part of me.    I’ve had various Bibles in my lifetime, but THIS was the Bible that has grown me in faith.  THIS was the Bible I hi-lited and marked with special notes.  THIS was the Bible that had spoken to me more times than I can recall, and THIS was the Bible that had been leading me along my walk with Christ.   Much of my heart and soul was attached to and invested in that Bible. 

My soon-to-be 10-year old son said, “Mom, maybe this is God’s way of telling you it’s time to get a new Bible.”  Maybe so, I thought sadly. 

The Bible tells us we shouldn’t put too much value on things of this earth, that the treasures of earth will rust and fade away.  Keeping that in mind I started preparing myself to go out and find a new Bible.  In the meantime, I retraced my steps and contacted a friend to see if I’d left it at her house a few days ago, even though I was 99.9% sure I hadn’t done so.  Didn’t I remember holding it as I left her house?  And didn’t I remember having it in the car with me afterward?   Fortunately, I was mistaken about those things.  My friend sent an email this morning saying she has my Bible.  I am so relieved! 

One night I was awake until 1:00 a.m. trying to figure out where that Bible was!  I even got up out of bed to look through the house for the upteenth time.  It was that night when I sent an email to my friend asking if I’d left my Bible at her house.  I should have known she had it because, looking back, I felt a little peace after sending that email, and I stopped feeling driven to continue looking.   Coincidentally…the title of the sermon yesterday was “Lost and Found”.   I put great hope in the word ‘found’! 

Well, I didn’t enjoy going crazy without my Bible, but it’s good to be reminded of just how much God and His written word, His God-breathed words of instruction and inspiration (2 Timothy 3:16-17) mean to me. 

Dear God, Thank You for preserving Your words, Your teachings, Your stories, and most importantly, Your Son with us.  Truly You are a loving God who loves us so much that You continue to teach and grow us in Your Word and Your Truth, so that we can live better lives and grow closer to You.  May I always remember just how precious Your God-breathed words and teachings are, and may they always guide my heart and mind.  In Jesus’ name I pray.  Amen.

