For many people, life is good.  They’re doing well. 

For others, life is hard…sweet, beautiful children  are sick and suffering…people are fighting cancers and other terrible illnesses…many struggle with financial problems…marriage/relathionship problems…life can be harsh and unfair…violence happens…abuse happens… death happens…for some it becomes too much and they don’t think they can keep going. 

Why, God?  Why is there pain and suffering?  Why do bad things happen?  Why do people have to struggle? 

God has never given me specific answers to these questions, and I doubt that He ever will.  What I do know is that we live in a fallen world.  We live in a world where there is love, goodness, faith and God, but also sin and evil.  Fortunately, I see much more good than evil in the world.  Despite the bad things that happen, God’s order reigns – the sun still rises every morning, seasons come and go, and love continues. 

As a Christian I see God as a loving, provisional God.  He is a God who loves all of His children and wants all of us to fare well.  He loves us so much that He wants us to love each other, too, and commands us to love each other as He has loved us.  I don’t think He wants bad things to happen.  In fact, I think it hurts Him even more than it hurts us to see all the sin and evil in our world.  I recently spoke to our pastor about this.  He reminded me that Jesus wept.   Jesus cried as he approached Jerusalem, not for himself, but because of the sins of the people. (Luke 19:41)  Our world broke Jesus’ heart in Bible times, and His heart still breaks today.   We know from the Bible, that ultimately Christ reigns over Satan and evil.  Christ wins the war, but at times I think Satan wins some battles.  When that happens, I believe God is as brokenhearted as we are…if not even more so. 

God works in each of us in different ways, so perhaps you’re called to handle things differently, but for myself I’ve learned that it’s not for me to keep asking, “Why, God?”  Instead, I’m called to say, “Please, God.”  “Please bring hope and healing to the person who is sick.”  “Please be strength and comfort for those who are weak in their suffering.” “Please help this person in his/her situation.”  “Please bring a special blessing to this person today.”  “Please help that person to stay safe.”  “Please protect us from harm and evil.”  “Please help me to know what to do, what to say, how to help, and when to step back so that others can step up.”  “Please, God, be with us.”

It is not for me to know all the answers or be the solution to all the problems, but I know the One who is, so I turn to Him.  God has never let me down.  For every, “Please, God”,  I’ve ever spoken, He’s given me reason to say, “Praise, God!”, too.

We live in a fallen world, but we have a risen Christ.   May His love be wtih you today and always.

