So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and  help you; I will uphold you with my victorious right hand.  ~ Isaiah 41:10.

The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you;  he will never leave you nor forsake you.  Do not be afraid.  Do not be discouraged.    ~ Deuteronomy 31:8

We’d just been there two hours earlier and things were going so well.  Despite having his colon removed three days before, our 15-year old friend was planning to go home the next day – a day earlier than expected!  He was playing video games and eating ice cream with my sons and another friend.  We left the hospitial relieved to know he was doing so well.

He wasn’t doing well, though.  Two hours later his body would be failing because a serious infection was in his bloodstream and taking over his body.  They almost lost him that night.  Praise God he survived, but instead of being moved out of his room to go home, he was moved into ICU where he remains at this time.  His body is in critical condition, but still fighting fighting the infection that wants to take over.

At first my husband and I were overcome with fear and concern, thinking about all the ‘what ifs’ that could happen.   Then we blocked those thoughts from our minds because they were unthinkable.  We didn’t want to fear the worst.  We wanted to hope for the best.  Thankfully my mind recalled something our Senior Pastor, Dr. Terry Moore, had recently said in a sermon.  He stated that the commandment God gives most in the Bible is to ‘fear not’…’do not be afraid’…’be of good courage’. 

If I’m afraid, then I’m not trusting God.  If I’m not of good courage, then I don’t have faith enough to hope in the Lord.  Fear is not of the Lord, but faith is. 

Dear God, Thank You for loving this boy even more than we do.  You created him with Your plans and purposes for his life.  We’ve watched him grow up to be a fine young man with a heart of faith for You.  Surely you have greater plans and purposes for him.  By accident he could have lost his life, but by Your Divine Intervention he is alive.  We praise You, God!   Please continue to be with him in this fight.  Give him the strength he needs, and may Your presence bring comfort and peace to his parents.  Amen.

