“In the same way, encourage young men (others) to live wisely.  And you yourself must be an example to them…”     – Titus 2:6-7

In Disciple Bible study this week, a video presenter was teaching about how to live in the presence of sinful and immoral behavior.  Referring to ancient Biblical times, he used the chariot as a metaphor and said that we’re not to enter the chariot, but are to keep pace alongside it.   The speaker was telling us that we, as Christians, are not to ‘enter’ or take part in bad behavior or situations that are sinful or immoral, but we’re not to turn away from them either!  We’re to ‘keep pace’ and stay alongside the chariot so we’re aware of the issues and problems around us, and also in an effort to lead the chariot  in a better direction. 

I was reminded of that teaching when I thought about someone whose behavior bothered and concerned me.  I decided to avoid particular situaitons by avoiding the person who caused them.   I was wrong to do so.  I need to “keep pace alongside the chariot” to remain aware of the issues and maybe even help lead it in a better direction.

Dear God, Please forgive me for choosing to avoid certain situations because they made me uncomfortable.  Help me stay alongside the chariot in hopes of leading it as You would have it to go.  In the precious name of Jesus I pray.  Amen. 

