Remember to observe the Sabbath day by keeping it holy.  Six days a week are set apart for your daily duties and regular work, but the seventh day is a day of rest dedicated to the LORD your God.    – Exodus 20:8-10

“I slept, therefore I am,”   I thought when I woke up this morning feeling much better today than I did yesterday.

  I hit a brick wall yesterday (figuratively speaking).  Since school started,  things have been good but hectic.  This past week especially – busy days, late nights when my son stayed up doing homework, and 4:00-4:30 a.m. wake-up times started my days.  By yesterday I was drained.  My spirits were good, thoughts still positive, but physically I was done.  Not only did I feel exhausted, I was also getting warning signs/symptoms of fatigue.

With much regret I cancelled out of yesterday’s commitments knowing I had to take time to rest.  I did only the chores and errands that were necessary.  My only trips out were to a restful hair appointment, picking up my son from school, and getting our dog from the vet.   I fixed a no-fuss meal, kept clean-up simple, and then spent the evening resting until I could go to bed. 

I felt guilty that I’d cancelling out of plans, but I knew I had to take time to rest.  If not, I’d have run myself down completely, my physical symptoms would have gotten worse, and I’d be forced to take a longer time-out which would mean I have to cancel more plans and back out of more committments. 

I had to tell myself that taking time to rest isn’t selfish.  It’s necessary.  It’s even biblical!  Included in the Ten Commandments is the commandment to rest, and the Ten Commandments appear twice!  (Genesis, chapter 20 and Deuteronomy, chapter 5)  We know from 2 Timothy 3:26-17 that all scripture is  ‘God inspired’, so if God inspired the Ten Commandments to be stated twice, then they must be important!  Consequently, the commandment to observe the  ‘sabbath’ , which commands us to take time to rest, must be important, too!  Nowhere in the Bible does God lead His people to run themselves ragged and get stressed out.  He commands us to do the opposite.  After six days of work and labor, God commands us to rest. 

Unfortunately, America’s way of life doesn’t encourage us to observe the Sabbath, and it certainly doesn’t provide a balance between work, play and rest.  We have to examine our schedules and carve out the time needed for rest. 

A friend stated it well in Bible study one day when she said, “If God could create the world in six days and then take a day of rest, shouldn’t we be able to do our work in six days and take a day of rest, too?” 

Further, the prescribed Sabbath Day was not just a day of rest to restore ourselves physically.  It was also a day to worship and reflect on the Lord so that we could refresh and restore ourselves spiritually, too.  

Are you taking the necessary time you need to rest and refresh yourself physically and spiritually? 

If not, how might you and your loved ones benefit if you were better rested  and better fed spiritually?

How might your job performance improve?  (At home and/or in a work setting)

How might YOU benefit from being well-rested and spiritually refreshed? 

 

May you find the time you need to rest and be refreshed, and may God bless and keep you. 

Renee

RELATED POSTS: 

“Are you burdened?  Take My yoke. – Jesus”  (Archives April 15 2007)

“Saving the Sabbath” (Archives March 2008)

