School starts tomorrow and, surprisingly, I’m not ready for them to go back!  I’ve really enjoyed having our boys home over the summer.  This is the first time ever I haven’t been counting the days until they’re back in school.  Usually I find myself going crazy by end of summer from having kids home 24/7 – reaching limits as to how much Disney and Nick, Jr tv I can take, (They have great shows for kids, but if you’re a grown-up and that’s all you see or hear…..!!!!), trying to find ways to keep them busy and entertained, putting up with brotherly squables, and dealing with constant piles of laundry, continuous eating, and ongoing messes around the house.   It’s a lot of work to have kids home for the summer!  It’s a lot of fun, too, and it’s important not to lose sight of that.  Summer fun is what makes all the summer work worth it!  And I have to say, it gets easier as they get older.  I think that’s why we’ve had such a good summer, one that I’m not ready to see end. 

  Except for having to plan around my older son’s football workouts/ practices and our younger son’s baseball schedules, we’ve been on our own schedule – which means very little schedule at all!  I purposely detached myself from most of my involvements over the summer so that summer could be all about us – not all the things I have to do or places I have to be.  Our boys are growing up FAST and we’re learning to make the most of all the moments we can. 

Since this is boys’ last day of summer vacation, my husband took the day off from work to spend it with us.  He’s playing Monopoly with the boys as I write and complaining about all the money he’s had to pay our younger son because he keeps landing on properties the little land-owner owns.  (hee hee) 

We didn’t get to take an actual summer vacation, but we did visit the boys’ grandparents at their new home near Hilton Head, SC.  They built a wonderful home in a low-country, ‘old south’-type community.  We had  a great time visiting them!  That ended up being our only get-away for the summer, but that’s ok because it was a great one!  And we saved vacation dollars!

Our older son only has three more summers at home before going away to college.   That means we just have nine months total of summer vacation with each of them while they’re ‘young’!   Yes, we definitely have to make the most of family times and create good family memories.  God willing, we’ll be able to do just that!

Oh, Good and Gracious Heavenly Father, You give us so much to be thankful for!  Thank You for the life you allow us to live and and the abundance of good things we have.  I’m not talking about money, food, or materialistic things.  I’m talking about abundance of love, happiness, health, and family.  Thank You for Your presence in our lives and Your place in our family.  None of this would be what it is without You.  Please may it be Your will to continue to bless us with more of the same, and may we in return make the most of our blessings in ways that bless and honor You .  Amen. 

