I woke up at 2:30 a.m. in great discomfort.  The antibiotics I’d started yesterday weren’t helping.  I was much worse.  I began to cry as I realized I would be unable to travel to Indiana today as planned.  The boys and I only had a few days, so it was going to be a quick trip to visit family – my Dad and his wife on Friday, then my husband’s sister and her family on Saturday when we’d have fun with my 3-year old nephew, then drive home on Sunday.  We didn’t get to make this trip last summer, so I’ve been especially anxious and excited to get there.  It’s been way too long since I’ve seen my Dad and he’s seen his grandsons; and my boys were looking forward to having playing with their little cousin on Saturday.  We were even going to surprise him by taking the little motorized John Deere truck my boys have outgrown.  The thought of missing out on all that added to the sickness I already felt. 

I was up for an hour before my physical discomfort subsided enough that I could try to go back to sleep.  As I crawled into bed, my tears started up again.  This time they were ‘pity party’ tears.  Why is there always something wrong with me?  Why do I have to miss so many things because of health issues?  Why did I have to miss another trip back to Indiana?  Why….?    I looked at the clock.  It was 3:16.  The numbers jumped out at me…3:16…John 3:16 – “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten son…”  Yes, that’s an amazing statement of God’s love, but what did that have to do with me at that moment?  Then I recalled the other half of that verse. “…so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life.”   Ok.  That’s an amazing promise of salvation, but again what does that have to do with me right now?  Why is that verse  jumping out at me?  My mind zoomed in on the words “…will not perish but have eternal life.”   God was breaking up my ‘pity party to say, “Renee, this is not something serious.  Yes, you have frequent ailments and problems, but they won’t cause you’re not about to perish!  And in the end, you have eternal life with Me to look forward to!”  Yep, He was right.  As disappointed as I was about not going to Indiana, there was nothing seriously wrong with me.  Praise for that!  As frustrating as frequent ailments and minor health problems are…they’re just that – minor!  The best part of all?  I might not get to see my earthly Dad tomorrow, but there’s a heavenly Dad whose visit is guaranteed!  God willing we’ll all unite there one day and no will have ailments or health problems of any kind! 

My pity party was over.  Thank You, God!  My thoughts turned to giving Him thanks for caring enough to comfort me at 3:16 in the morning. 

God often speaks to me in the 3:00 a.m. hour, usually around 3:30 a.m.   Maybe it’s because the world around me is completely quiet and peaceful at that time.  Usually aroused from sleep, my mind is clear and open, not cluttered and busy like it usually is during the course of my days.  

It’s now 11:35 a.m.  I’m still disappointed we can’t go to Indiana as planned, but for some reason, that’s the way it is.  No pity parties for me, though.  I’d rather use my time and thoughts in more purposeful ways, like remembering how awesome my Heavenly Father is and how thankful I am for the things that really matter.

