Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about what happens to you.    – 1 Peter 5:7

I love the LORD, for he heard my voice; he heard my cry for mercy.  Because he turned his ear to me, I will call on him as long as I live…Be at rest once more, O my soul, for the LORD has been good to you.      – Psalm 116:1-2, 5

Some people wonder how Christians can be believers.  If asked why or how I believe, my response is that I know how I’ve been blessed- how my life is blessed – since I started living in faith.  Nothing else I’ve ever done or believed has had the impact on my life that God has.  He is there.  He does things!  Today was one of those amazing times when He proved His presence in my life.

I recently witnessed a situation that wasn’t right.  It troubled me.  At 3:44 a.m. I woke up thinking about it.  I tried to go back to sleep, but couldn’t.  My mind was stuck on this situation.  It needed to be addressed.  I started making a mental check-list of the issues that bothered me; then I started considering what I could say or do regarding these things.  With thoughts finally in place I tried and tried to go back to sleep but I couldn’t.  I’d been awake an hour!  It was almost 5:00 a.m.!  Desperate to have a little more sleep I silently cried out to God, “Lord, what else do I need to do about this?  Why can’t I go to sleep?”  Then I realized my mistake.  I’d spent an hour of precious sleep time wrestling with my thoughts as a lone wrangler.  Instead of turning things over in my mind, I needed to turn them over to God. 

I prayed out the situation to God, and instead of coming up with everything I needed to say and do, I left it up to God to determine those things.  Even though I’d developed strong feelings about how I needed to take care of things, as I prayed I realized God was waiting for me to trust HIM to take care of things.  What peace this brought!  Why hadn’t I realized this sooner? 

Having given it all up to God and trusting Him to handle the situation as He saw fit, I fell right to sleep!   But that’s not the happy ending.  It gets better.

Later in the day God showed me how He’d rectified the situation – beautifully, I might add – and without any involvement from me. 

Do you see how He blessed me in this situation?  Knowing I was troubled He stayed with me until I gave it all up to Him.  He didn’t let me take matters into my own hands.  If I had, I’d have surely messed things up and maybe even made things worse!  AND…not only did He take care of the situation, He also allowed me to be blessed by the outcome.  What a sweet Lord we have!

The most awesome part about all of this is that I never uttered a word of what I was thinking and feeling.  God knew what was in my heart.  He heard and answered my silent prayers.  NO ONE knew the concerns I had.  Only Him.  And He acted on them.  Praise be to God! 

Dear Lord, Thank You for always being there, for tending to the matters of my heart, and for the peace You give when I’m in step with You.  Thank You for not letting me rest (literally!) until I’d responded in faith and put my trust in You.  Thanks also for the added blessings of knowing how well You took care of things.  You truly are an awesome God!   As long as I have breath, I will praise Your holy name!  Amen. 

You faithfully answer our prayers with awesome deeds.  – Psalm 65:5

