Let all that I am praise the LORD; with my whole heart, I will praise his holy name.

Let all that I am praise the LORD: may I never forget the good things he does for me.

He forgives all my sins and heals all my diseases…      ~ Psalm 103:1-3 (NLT)

My 14-year old son has been sick all week with fevers, fatigue, body aches and night sweats.  We saw a pediatrician on Monday (6 days ago) who said his illness was viral, so all we could do was treat symptoms and wait it out.  By Friday pm I was concerned he had mono.  As he continued to have nightsweats throug the night it became apparent that he wouldn’t be able to go with his youth group on their mission trip since departure was little more than 24 hours away.  Even if his symptoms miraculously went away, he wouldn’t have time to recover after being so sick for so long.  Going on the trip could set him back and make him even worse.  I sent a prayer request to a few of my prayer partners asking them to pray for my son and his wellness.  A few responded that they’d pray for him to get well so that he could go on the mission trip.

Boy, were those prayers good, because all the sudden the next day my son was feeling well! 

With less than 24 hours from the trip’s departure, I took my son to Urgent Care.  He’d had night sweats through the night and continued to be fatigued.  Blood tests ruled out mono (praise!) but comfirmed his blood was high with viral ‘bugs’.  The doctor agreed that my son was too sick to go on the trip, which led to disappointment for both of us.  On the way home we stopped at the grocery and I noticeed my son seemed to be doing better.  Then he said he was feeling better and asked if he could pack when we got home just in case we decided to let him go on the trip.  From that moment on he’s been well! 

Throughout the day I was in skeptical amazement.  Just hours earlier my eyes were looking at results from a blood test that confirmed my son had high counts of viral cells.  Now my eyes were looking at the same son and seeing a boy who was suddenly well and back to his usual self! 

The doctor proved he was sick.  The Great Physician made him well! 

As I write, my son is on his way to inner city D.C. with his youth group and leaders for their mission trip!  Praise be to God! 

Thank You, Great Physician!

