In Micca Mondo Campbell’s devotion, “Greener Pastures” she uses the following scripture from the 23rd Psalm as her main verse:

“He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside the still waters, he restores my soul.” Psalm 23:2-3 (NIV)

(To read Micca’s devotion, go to www.Proverbs31.org , Encouragement for Today, May 18, 2009.)

I’ve seen or heard this verse countless times before, but as I read it today, it occured to me that the Lord calls us to rest, not to stress.

Are you in a state of rest or stress?  If you are stressed, something in your life is not of God.  Possibly you’ve bitten off more than He’s called you to chew (proverbially speaking).  Maybe you’ve shut the Lord out altogether, trying to manage everything on your own.  Or maybe life has simply happened to you in unkind, unfair, or overwhelming ways.  Whatever your reasons, don’t stress, seek rest.  Find your rest in Him.  Go before Him with whatever is stressing you, and don’t be shy or afraid.  There’s nothing you can tell Him that He doesn’t already know!  He wants to help.  He wants to lighten your burdens.   (See Matthew 11:28-30) 

Many things are too big for us, but nothing is too big for God!  And nothing is too little or insignificant.  If it matters to you, it matters to Him!  

For me, stress is usually caused by having too much to do and not enough time to do it.  My stress spills over onto my husband and kids.  That’s not right!  And it’s not of God!  HE won’t give me too much to do, so I’ve either taken on too much, OR I’m not managing my tasks and time well enough.  When this happens I take a minute to give it all up to God.  I tell Him I’m doing a bad job of managing things and need His help.  I let Him take over and follow His lead.  I’ve never been sorry yet.  And I’ve never given anything up to Him that He hasn’t helped me take care of.  He helps me make my way through seemingly impossible days.  When I’ve taken on too much, He helps me sort things out.  THEN I find rest and lose the stress. 

For related posts, see “Are you burdened?  Take My yoke.”  – Jesus  (march 2008 archives), and “Saving the Sabbath” (april 2007 archives).

Remember, God calls us to rest, not to be stressed.    Be blessed, not stressed!

