God speaking:  “I will continue this everlasting covenant between us, generation after generation. It will continue between me and your offspring forever…Your part of the agreement,” God told Abraham, “is to obey the terms of the covenant.  You and all your descendents will have this continual responsibility.”  – Genesis 17:7-9

Moses speaking: “These are the commands, laws, and regulations that the LORD your God told me to teach you so you may obey them…and so you and your children and grandchildren might fear the LORD your God as long as your live.  If you obey all his laws and commands, you willl enjoy a long life.  – Deuteronomy 6:1-2

“You must commit yourselves wholeheartedly to these commands I am giving you today.  Repeat them again and again to your children.  Talk about them when you are at home and when you are away on a journey, when you are lying down and when you are getting up again.  Tie them to your hands as a reminder, and wear them on your forehead.  Write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.”   – Deuteronomy 6:6-7

If you’d have asked me what all that meant seven years ago, I’d have had no idea.  Further, if I’d been asked to do what the scriptures said to do, there’d have been no way!  I’d have been desperately asking: What covenant?  What IS a covenant?  What are the terms of the covenant?  How can I obey the terms if I don’t know what they are?  And I’m supposed to teach them to my children?!

My biggest question would have been:  WHERE DO I FIND THE ANSWERS?! 

Hearing our Mother’s Day sermon yesterday reminded me how important my role is in my children’s life – not just as a Mom, but also as a parent.  It’s up to me/us (my husband and I) to teach our children well.  How can I give  them the right answers to life if I don’t know them myself? 

Seven years ago I started finding answers through Disciple Bible Study.  I knew answers for right living were in the Bible, but didn’t know what the answers were.  Even if Idid, I had no idea where  in the Bible to find them.  The Bible is a big book!  I needed answers for myself and I needed them for my children.  Even though I didn’t know much about the Bible at the time, I somehow knew it was the best reference guide for parents. 

What about you?  Would you like to have better answers and references for life’s questions?  Do you want to teach your children well?  If so, I encourage you to find a Bible study.  Many churches will soon be offering sign-ups for next fall’s classes.  Some churches might have studies continuing through the summer.  You can also gather friends and start your own Bible studies.  Our church offers a wide variety of Bible and Christian book studies throughout the year.  Most popular have been Disciple Bible Studies and Beth Moore studies.  For more about Disciple Bible Studies, go to www.Cokesbury.com     If you live in the Charlotte/Weddington areas of North Carolina, join us for studies at Weddington United Methodist Church!  We’d love to have you!  For info go to www.weddingtonchurch.org    or contact me at ReneeMyers@carolina.rr.com   I’ll be glad to help you any way I can. 

Not sure what to do?  Say a prayer and ask God to lead you to the right study or course of action.  Then call area churches to see what they offer, and talk to friends to see what they recommend.  Maybe they’d like to join you!   

The Bible has become my all-time favorite book.  It’s fascinating, informative, insightful, and most important…it speaks to me.  God speaks to me through His written Word.  He teaches me, convicts me, leads me, and inspires me.  I hope to be studying the Bible my entire life!  Never should there come a day when I feel I’ve learned enough.   I hope you’ll become a student of the Word, too!   Or continue studies you’ve already begun.    Most importantly, I hope you’ll take what you learn and pass it along to others as God commands us to do, and teach His children well.    God bless you.

