“Great is his (God’s) faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each day.   – Lamentations 3:23

When the New Year arrives we look ahead to the coming 364 days with thoughts of new beginnings.  It’s even tradition to make resolutions for what we’ll do differently or try to accomplish in the New Year.  Who needs a New Year, though?  Every day is a good opportunity for new beginnings!  Each day is good day for making improvements and committing to better ways!  Most importantly, every day is a good day for trying again if our first efforts (or second, third, …) don’t succeed.  

Thanks to God and His gracious ways, His mercies are new every day!  Make the most of that truth by making the most of new opportunities in each new DAY, not just the New Year!  And when things don’t go as planned, it’s ok!  God’s mercies begin afresh each day, so make a new start regardless of what day it is and begin again!  Scarlett O’Hara said it best in “Gone with the Wind” when she said, “Tomorrow is another day!”

Dear Lord, Thank You for the gift of each new day!  Please help me make the most of every day, the opportunities and possibilities that each day holds, that I will live well and do good things that will bless and honor You; seeking to do Your will and not my own; looking to You for direction with each step I take.  And, Lord, when my attempts and best efforts fall short of what I want them to be, please meet me with the mercies You promise that are new each day!  In Jesus’ holy name I pray.  Amen. 

