I was recently speaking with a friend who’s an attorney.  She said she knew of many cases where lawsuits weren’t really about money.  The plaintiffs just wanted to hear the defendent say, “I’m sorry”. 

I can believe that.  I have a dear friend whose family’s lives were turned upside down and wrong-side out due to the greedy and illegal buisness actions of others.  She and her family are still suffering severe medical problems because of those actions.  For what might have been two years, this family was in preparation for their day in court.  The money from winning would have been extremely useful.  However, what this family wanted most was to hear the offender(s) say, ‘I’m sorry.’ 

Much of the OT is about sin offerings and guilt offerings.  God’s people were to come before the priest at the altar in the Tabernacle with the appropriate offerings and sacrifices (as instructed by God).  The priests would present the offerings to the Lord so the people could be forgiven.  Although the people did not go directly before God, He knew that it was important for them to say, “I’m sorry”.  God also had a need to hear that the people say, “I’m sorry”, for their sinful ways.  God would turn His back on them for a time when they failed to acknowledge their sins and offer repentent hearts. 

 As Christians, we believe Jesus Christ died upon the cross as the ultimate sacrifice.  Upon Christ’s death, God removed the separations that kept us from going directly to him when we had sinned.  We no longer need a priest to intervene on our behalf.  We can go directly to God in prayer to say, “I’m sorry.” 

If God wants to hear the words, “I’m sorry”, who else needs to hear them? 

A mother didn’t understand her grown daughter’s frustrations with her.  The daughter felt she had justified reasons to be upset with her mother.  What frustrated the daughter most was that the mother wouldn’t say she was sorry for the things that upset the daughter.  The mother didn’t understand why she should apologize since she didn’t agree with the daughter.  The mother had a hard time understanding that it didn’t matter whether or not she agreed with the daughter, the daughter just wanted her hurt feelings to be acknowledged by the mother and for the mother to say she was sorry if she’d said or done things to hurt the daughter.  I don’t know if the mother ever apologized. 

I’ve gotten more practice lately saying, ‘I’m sorry”, to my husband than I care to think about.  I let frustrations get the best of me and lost my patience, saying things that upset my husband.  I couldn’t take the words back, so all I could do was say, “I’m sorry.”

How about you?  Are there at least three people who are waiting to hear you say, “I’m sorry”?  Spouse?  Children?  Parents? Other family members?  Friends? Neighbors?  People at church?  If so, please go ahead and tell them you’re sorry and see what a difference it makes. 

God bless you!

Renee

