Previously I wrote about where I stand regarding the upcoming election.  So what about the others?  What about the people who disagree and are voting for the other guy?  If I claim to have chosen McCain because I feel he’s ‘moral’ and will uphold good Christian values, then what does that say about those who support Obama?  Does that imply that they’re not ‘moral’ or of good Christian standing?  What about our good Christian friends who do favor Obama? 

Well, I had a good, open, honest exchange of ideas with a dear Christian sister-friend who supports Obama.  I’d like to share a few of my ‘bottom line’ thoughts. 

1) It was great having a respectful exchange of ideas where each of us allowed the other to speak and be heard without being judgmental, offended, or defensive. 

2) Neither of us based our choice on political party, but instead upon the issues that were most important to each of us.

3) Because of differences in our life experiences and the way God ‘hard-wired’ us, we’re each affected by different things and, thus, have different concerns. 

4) She chose Obama because she feels he’s the best candidate to tend to the issues that are of greatest concern to her which are also based on her Christian beliefs.

5) She does not share Obama’s views on some of his so-called ‘moral’ issues, but trusts in the process of our governmental system and its checks and balances to prevent him from acting on some of the ‘moral’ issues we both agree upon.

6) My friend made an excellent point about the use of the words ‘moral’ and ‘morality’.  We toss them around too lightly, and she feels the general view is that the Republicans claim to be the moral party and that Dems are viewed as being immoral.  I don’t view them that way, but apparently there are those who do.  I feel ‘immorality’ has been shown by people of both parties!  Which leads us to her next viewpoint of “What is morality, anyway?”  It can’t be clearly defined because each of us has our own opinions about what’s moral and what is not.  I agree.  Good point, sister-friend. 

My conclusion after our discussion?  I understand and respect her thoughts and interests, and greatly appreciated her sharing them with me.  Although I agree with her on some issues, I still can’t support Obama based on my personal Christian values.  Does that mean she doesn’t have good Christian values?  Absolutely not.  She has a wonderful, loving heart for the Lord and others, but her heart leads her to see things and be affected by things differently than me. 

So what about our differences?  They’re a good thing!  No one idea is the best idea.  It often takes the input of numerous people with different ideas and perspectives to achieve the best outcome for the OVERALL good of everyone.  Our government is set up to be a system based on the voices of many.  Our constitutional rights give us freedom of speech.  It’s that freedom that allows us to come to the table, bringing our differences with us,  so that together we can represent the big picture and work toward the best possible solutions for our problems and concerns. 

I still worry that if Obama is elected, those voices might become too liberal and there will be more chipping away of Christianity and godliness in our American society.  I hope I’m mistaken. 

My bottom line thought is this: I am grateful to live in a country where opposing views can be expressed and heard, and I feel blessed to have a friend with whom I can exchange differing viewpoints without arguing – but for the sake of sharing and understanding.  I pray for God to be with us in this election and to stay with us as a nation, to lead us forward as HE would have us to go; and that He will work closely with whoever is elected to bring about His will and intended direction for us as His people.  I truly believe we’re a nation founded to be one nation under His blessing, and hope and pray that all will come together after this election to unify as such.  May God continue to bless the USA, and God bless you.

