Despite the symptoms I described in the post below (“Shingles, anyone?”), in my soul I’m doing very well.  Verses from my devotional reading tonight spoke clearly to me and were uplifting and encouraging.  They’re from the story of Gideon in the 6th chapter of Judges:

The Lord is with you, mighty warrior.

The Lord turned to him and said, “Go in the strength you have…Am I not sending you?”

So how do these words speak to me?  I get frustrated with the limitations I’ve felt lately from my shingles – some due to physical discomfort, but mostly from being drained of energy (likely the effect of ongoing virus).  Each day I look forward to what the Lord will put before me and hope to accomplish much for Him, but lately it seems like I haven’t been able to accomplish much.  I wonder what I’ll be able to do in the future. Will I be able to keep up with commitments and activities?  It saddens me to think I might have to cut back, sit out, or quit some things altogether.  However, the first verse above calls me a mighty warrior – not a worrier.  The second verse tells me to go in the strength I DO have – not focus on the strength I’m missing; and then it reminds me that I can be confident in what I’m called to do because the Lord Himself is sending me.  He wouldn’t do it if He couldn’t get me through it, whatever it is or will be.  And those things excite me because they indicate He’ll still be calling!  It’s all good.  God is good.  I’m so blessed. 

May you see His blessings, too!  God bless you.

Renee

