If you’re as old as me, do you remember a pop song from our youth that went, “Give me just a little more time, and our love will surely grow…”   Well, that song played out in truth for me today.  While my older son was away at basketball camp, I spent the entire day with my younger son (7 years old) totally ignoring everything else I could have been doing or should have been doing.   What a great day it was!  He thrived on having my attention dedicated solely to him.  I can’t remember a day when he’s given my so many hugs and squeezes.  We didn’t go anywhere or do anything special, either.  We just spent first part of the day taking it easy on the couch and watching some of his favorite children’s shows.  After lunch we spent most of the afternoon up in his room.  So it was a take-it-easy and hang out together kind of day, and it was wonderful. 

If you ask kids what they want, most will respond that they want time with their parents.  They want their parents to play with them and/or hang out with them.  

Read or recall the words to the tune above and think about your child(ren) while you do. 

“Give me just a little more love, and our love will surely grow…” 

May God bless you and your time with your children.  I hope you’ll make the most of the weeks they’re home for the summer. 

And by the way…I’ll bet God’s up there singing that song about US, too!  Give Him just a little more time, and your love for Him will surely grow, too!

Love, hugs, and blessings,

Renee

