What are your goals this summer?  I look forward to lazy mornings and relaxed days, good summer foods, days on the lake with our boat, a vacation week up at Lake Lure, a few summer camps for the boys, and most of all…SUMMER READING. 

Through the school year I’m so occupied with the daily reading and study required for my Disciple 1 Bible study classes that I don’t have much time for other things I’d like to read. Over the past few years my book shelf has acquired quite a collection ‘must read’ books still waiting to be read.  Each year I figure I’ll read them over the summer, but then I don’t.  This summer I’m going to my books!  AND…I’ll continue with my Bible reading, too.  How about you?  What will you be reading?

The books patiently waiting for me are:

My Bible (Life Application Study Bible)  The study I lead covers approximately 80% of the Bible.  This summer I want to read the books and chapters I haven’t yet studied. 

A Day with a Perfect Stranger (sequel to Dinner with a Perfect Stranger)   Author: David Gregory   Each of these are quick-read fictions that are readily engaging.  Begin with ‘Dinner’ first, then read ‘Day’. 

90 Minutes in Heaven  This is a true story by about a pastor who dies and experiences heaven.  I forget the author’s name. 

The Next Level by David Gregory who describes it as a parable of finding your place in life

Christmas Jars by Jason F. Wright  This book was loaned to me by my dear friend, Sue.  It looks like a similar read to Dinner with a Perfect Stranger and A Day with a Perfect Stranger.  Can’t wait!  (I have to finish ‘Day’ first, though.)

Praying the Names of God by Ann Spangler  A daily reading guide for studying and praying the names of God from the Bible (i.e. Yahweh, Adonay, El Shadday, Elohim, and many others)

The Power of Praying Together by Stormie Omartian and Jack Hayford   This book talks about praying in groups, with partners, with your spouse, as a church, for your nation, and many other things. 

What a Husband Needs from His Wife by Melanie Chitwood    Melanie lives nearby so I’ve been fortunate to meet her.  She is warm and genuine and seems to have found her niche applying Christian truths and perspectives to marrital and family issues.  And by the way…what a husband needs isn’t necessarily what you might think!  (wink, wink)

OTHER SUGGESTED BOOKS:

God’s Purpose for Every Woman by Rachel Olsen and Lysa TerKeurst of Proverbs 31 Ministries    I was blessed and privileged to assist Rachel with this book.  It’s a collection of P 31’s Encouragement for Today devotions.  I’ve given many copies as gifts and they’ve always been well received.  Treat yourself to a copy!  Go to www.Proverbs31.org to order this and many other great reads! 

The Faith Club by Ranya Idliby, Suzanne Olive, and Priscilla Warner   I LOVED this book.  It’s the true narration of thoughts and conversations of three NY City mothers in the post 9/11 days as they explored each other’s faiths as well as their own.  Fascinating!   Ranya is Muslim, Suzanne is Catholic, and Priscilla is Jewish.    I HIGHLY recommend this book! 

 The Power of a Praying Woman, Power of a Praying Wife, Power of a Praying Parent all by Stormie Omartian    You can read through these a chapter at a time (which I recommend), or use them as go-to reference books as needed.

How about you?  What will you be reading?  What do you recommend? 

Whatever you look forward to doing this summer, I hope you’ll make it a goal to stay in God’s Word.  This can be done by reading a Psalm a day, choosing Bible books, chapters or verses that interest you, or at least reading a daily Bible devotion.  For great daily online devotions that are FREE, go to www.Proverbs31.org 

God bless you.  

Love,

Renee 

 

