I didnt’ dare admit it at the time, but there was a Mother’s Day several years ago when all I really wanted for Mother’s Day was a day at home by myself WITHOUT my husband and kids.  I just wanted to be left alone in peace and quiet.  I was ashamed to feel that way.  That was during a stressful time in our lives.  It wasn’t the kids’ fault.   I have two great boys.  Things were just too much for me at the time.  My heart wasn’t right.  I hadn’t yet turned it over to God. 

Fast forward a few years. My heart is now SO of God.  We have a peaceful home (most of the time 🙂 ) and are a loving family.  Getting right with God has made all the difference.

I’ve learned to treasure each day with kids at home.  Seeing how quickly they’re growing, I know that all too soon they’ll be leaving for college and then going on to pursue their own lives.  The house gets too noisy at times; if there’s not a mess over here, then there’s one over there; and we still have arguments and problmes from time-to-time, but it’s all good!  One of these days the house will seem too quiet!  I’ll miss having evidence of growing children to clean up. 

My children are precious and special.  I love them so much!  I no longer lose moments of time by wishing my days away – longing for when they’ll grow out of a certain phase or stop/start doing something else – so that we can move on in life.  We’re moving in life now and I want to make the most of each moment! 

In a recent conversation with my step-mother, she was looking back at 21 years of marriage, surprised at how quickly the years had gone by – especially since some days seemed to drag on and go so slowly.  I agreed that when we look back, we realize time has passed way too quickly.  I realized, too, that when we look back it’s not the slow times or tough days we see, it’s the good times.  They’re what matter most. 

For Mother’s Day this year I just want a day of good times WITH my family every moment of the day (and maybe a rose plant, too).  We’ll begin the day by celebrating our FATHER since it’s from Him that every good and perfect gift comes – including that of a much improved heart, home, and family. 

God bless you all.  And if you’re a Mom, happy Mother’s Day! 

For related posts, see May 2007 archives.  I recommend the post about Handprints. 

Love, hugs and blessings,

Renee

