Like millions of others, I’m an American Idol tv show fan.  This week the performers/contestants worked with world renowned composer Andrew Loyd Weber.  In my opinion, he’s the greatest of contemporary times when it comes to Broadway musicals.  His list of successes includes Jesus Christ Superstar (I watched it over and over at the movies and played the album until it wore thin), Evita, Cats, and Phantom of the Opera – just to name a few that you might be familiar with. 

I expected that performing musical-type songs would be challenging for most of the Idol contestants.  What I expected to be even more challenging – and even intimidating – would be working with theatrical genious extrordinairre (sp?) Andrew Loyd Weber.  I could not have been more wrong.  He was warm, kind, encouraging, open-minded to other’s interpretations of his songs, and even a man of grace.  I was astounded, impressed and completely blown away when he met with them as a group and told them, “I am here to be your servant.”   Whoah!  The Michael Jordan and Tiger Woods of Broadway was there to be THEIR servant!  He professed that his goal was to work with them and help them do their best.   With each performer he took the time and effort to do and say what he could to actually empower them to give their best performances possible. 

After watching this show I found myself thinking, “Wouldn’t it be great to have a personal coach like that for whatever it is that you do?”  You know, if you’re into computers to have Bill Gates take a time-out to work with you.  Or if you aspire to be a world peacemaker to have someone like President Carter be your mentor.  And of course, if you’re into sports, to have the most accomplished coach from your sport to be your personal coach.  You get the idea.  Well, friends, we DO have someone like that! 

Your Heavenly Father loves you more than anyone on this earth can.  He wants you to do well in everything you do and is always there to help bring out the best in you!  In fact, He sent His Son, Jesus Christ, to be your personal Lord and Savior, and listen to what Jesus, himself, said to His bff’s (best friends forever): “For even I, the Son of Man, came here not to be served but to serve others, and to give my life as a ransom for many.” (Matthew 20:28 NLT)  Those beloved friends were later astonished, I’m sure, to gather with Jesus for what would be His last meal here on earth, and see him wrap the servant’s apron around his waist so that he could kneel before them to wash each their feet.  Not only did Jesus claim to be their servant, He humbled Himself to show true service to them. 

The Bible defines who a good servant is:  “A faithful, sensible servant is one whom the master can give the responsibility of managing his other household servants and feeding them.”  (Matthew 24:45)  The Bible also quotes God saying the following in reference to Jesus: “Look at my Servant, whom I have chosen.  He is my Beloved, who pleases me…”  (Matthew 12:8)

Jesus served all who sought His service.  He taught, counseled, healed, performed miracles, drove away demons, and even brought the dead back to life.  The acts of service that especially impress me, though, were His acts of listening carefully and patiently to all who came to Him, praying for them, and then doing whatever was needed to empower them and lift them up.  He is there wanting to do the same for you and me, too!  We just have to do what those in the Bible did.  We have to go before Him, share our praises, needs, desires, and concerns; and do so with the faith and belief that He can and will serve us as needed to lift us up and empower us. 

When I have a seemingly impossible day ahead of me, the first thing I do is turn to my Lord in prayer, turning it over to Him, and trusting Him to lead me through my day.  He hasn’t failed me yet.  Every time I do this He serves me by getting me through even better than I had hoped.  When I face a daunting task or something that’s important to me, I go to my Lord in prayer and He serves me by lifting me up and empowering me.  Sometimes He encourages me by discouraging me.  Knowing my thoughts or plans are headed in the wrong directions, He does what it takes to keep me on His intended path or course. 

As I think back to the way Andrew Loyd Weber influenced, encouraged, lovingly discouraged (when needed), and selflessly gave of himself to the Idol contestants for the sake of empowering them and lifting them up, helping them to be their best, I know my Jesus is there doing the same for me and He wants to do the same for you.  I’m so grateful.  Thank you, Lord!

Before I close, even though this pursues a different topic, I feel the need to point out that Mr. Weber is a fine personification of the following verse:

Luke 22:26, “But among you it will be different.  Those who are the greatest among you should take the lowest ranks and the leader should be like the servant.” 

God bless you, Mr. Andrew Loyd Weber, sir. 

