Ask and it shall be given to you; seek and you shall find; knock and it shall be opened to you.  For every one who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it shall be opened.    – Matthew 7:7-8

My heart is full of such praise and joy, and the reason is quite simple.  I asked and received. 

Recently I’ve been grappling with questions and frustrations about God’s intended directions for me.  While on Spring Break I took time while I walked along the beach to pray to God.  As I looked out across the great expanse of the ocean, felt refreshing sea breezes, and watched waves wash upon my feet, I recommitted my heart to Him and earnestly sought His will and purpose for me.  James 5:16, The earnest prayer of a righteous person has great power and wonderful results.

Having missed being in church while we were away, I felt relief being in the presence of the Lord at worship service yesterday.  To my delight, the guest speakers and pastor all spoke about answering callings, reminding us that the Bible calls for EACH of us to be ministers as Christians.  “Yes, Lord.  I’m willing to answer my calling and minister for You, but what IS my calling?” 

Then, this morning, on my way to prayer group, I prayed one more time, admitting my frustration about not knowing what I was supposed to be doing.  Was God not giving me a ‘calling’ because this is time for me to sit out, sit back, and be quiet?  To let others have their season of coming forward to serve while I sought the Lord in other ways?  All I wanted was for His plan to be my plan, but to do that I really needed to know what His plan was!

Then I got to prayer group.  Before we even started to pray, God led our conversation to topics that began answering my prayers and giving me needed perspectives.   Our prayers furthered those thoughts.  Praise!  Then I got home and checked my email for the first time since arriving home from our trip.  I found more answers to my prayers!  You can’t imagine how much this fills my heart with praise and joy!

These things didn’t happen because there is anything special about me or the way I pray.  These things happened because there’s something very special about the God we serve and the Lord I love.  God, our Heavenly Father, knows the desires of our hearts and tends to them when we take delight in Him – especially when we take time to pray to Him.  Psalm 37:4  Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will tend to the desires of your heart.

His own Son, Jesus Christ, our Advocate, tells us to pray in His name, believing that what we ask for we will receive.  Isn’t that something?  Christ, who now sits in heaven at the right hand of the Father, is our Advocate and is willing to intercede for us when we pray in His name!

I have a book that states the following (auther unknown):  Prayer changes things and it changes us.  Today, instead of turning things over in your mind, turn them over to God in prayer.  Instead of worrying about your next decision, decide to let God lead the way.  Don’t limit your prayers to meals or to bedtime.  Pray constantly about things great and small.  God is listening, and He wants to hear from you.  Now.

Dear Heavenly Father, Thank you for hearing my prayers and tending to the desires of my heart, awing me by answering my prayers, and doing so in ways beyond my hopes.  I pray that others will turn to You and do the same, praying about whatever is on on their hearts and minds, so that You can reveal Yourself to them in awesome ways, too.  Lord, I pray these things to You, in the name of Jesus Christ, my Lord and Savior; and in the love of the Holy Spirit.  Amen. 

