One day…Jesus went to a mountain to pray, and he prayed to God all night.   Luke 6:12

We all need a little break now and then.  Currently my family and I are on Spring Break.  As I write this I’m listening to the sounds of waves crashing onto the beach just yards away from where I sit.  It’s been fun being with our kids on the beach and meeting other families, but it’s also been nice breaking away from all the beach activity to walk along a private beach area where there was no commotion or distraction.  On my  walks I let myself get lost in the beauty and expanse of the ocean and unending sky so that I could break away from the usual busyness of my life to be with my Lord.  What sweet prayer time I had as I walked along the beach – wind blowing, seagulls flying, waves washing ashore, and cool, soft sand meeting each of my steps. 

Jesus had to find time to break away, too.  As He grew in popularity and became more widely known, thousands of people would follow Him wherever He went.  If He tried to get away by boat, crowds would be waiting for him on distant shores.  Not only did large crowds follow him, they often pushed in around him.  And they weren’t just trying to catch a glimpse of Him or get His autograph.  They were seeking Him for healing, teaching, counseling, and to do miracles that would drive away demons and raise the dead to life!  (Events recorded in the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.)  Jesus, too, needed to break away.  He had to take breaks from the busyness of His life so that He could connect and commune with His Father. 

Yes, it’s good to break away from that which distracts us from being with God.

 

