My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. 

– 2 Corinthians 12:9

For several years now I’ve lead the first study of the Disciple Bible Study program.  Each week our daily Bible reading is followed up by study and questions in our workbooks.  The questions don’t quiz us about the reading we’ve done.  The questions probe our personal thoughts and reactions to what we’ve read in an effort to help us grow in our faith and relationship with God.  One of my favorite questions is this:

“What weakness do you have that God can use?”

The question seems paradoxical, doesn’t it?  We’re trained by the world to put our best selves forward, not to expose our weaknesses.  To be successful we do our best hide our weaknesses and flaws.  We can’t let others see the wrongs of our character – and certainly not of our past!  However, that’s exactly what this question is asking us to do! 

Before answering the question, let’s think about the verse above.  The truth of the Word states clearly that God’s grace is sufficient for you, and that God’s power is made PERFECT in  your WEAKNESSES!  Scriptures don’t just say that God can make a little something good from the bad, or that he can probably figure out something to do with our wrongs, flaws and mistakes.  Scripture tells us that it is in our weaknesses that GOD’S POWER can be made PERFECT!  Go figure!  If we offer our weaknesses to God, then by His grace He will equip us with His perfect power.  Who else can promise you such a deal?!  

If you think about it, it makes sense.  Testimonies are all about how God took the bad and ugly times of people’s  lives and used His power to perfect those things for His glory, making good come from the bad.  That’s exactly what my testimony is about.  God took the ugliest part of my life and made beauty come from it.  In so doing He changed my heart and my life forever, and by His grace I’m able to share His beauty with others so that they can be touched and changed, too. 

Let’s look at that question again.  What weaknesses do you have that God can use? 

I know it’s hard to answer. By answering honestly we’re exposing ourselves to Him and making ourselves vulnerable.  It’s ok.  That’s what’s supposed to happen.  You see, it’s when we find ourselves humbled and vulnerable to God that He can do His best work within us.  It’s then that He can take our weaknesses – failures, ugly things, mistakes, shames, guilt, regrets, anger, jealousies, doubt, and whatever else is holding us back – to make us strong and able so that His glory shine through us.   I’ve seen people literally radiate with the joy after their weaknesses have been made strong and perfect by the grace of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. 

Jesus Christ lived a perfect life and then died a painful death upon the cross so that He could sacrifice Himself for our sins.  Then He was made alive again and taken into heaven so that we could know that He offers eternal life to all who believe in Him.  He did this so our weaknesses and sins would not lead us to eternal death, but instead lead us to Him so He could offer us eternal life in heaven, too, where He waits for us.

This Easter Season, make the most of the sacrifice He made for you.  If you haven’t done so already, pray now to tell seek Christ as the Lord and Savior of your heart.  Dear God, My Heavenly Father, I no longer want to hide that which is weak within me.  I’m ready to let go of the weaknesses and sins that hold me back.  I want to give my heart to Jesus so that He can free me of these things and lead me forward in joy to eternal life with Him.  In return, I want Him offer Him my weaknesses so that His power can be made perfect in me, so that His glory will shine brightly in me.  To You my Heavenly Father, I pray; seeking Jesus as my Lord and Savior, Amen.   

If you’ve already given your heart to Jesus, examine your heart.  Have you exposed your weaknesses to the Lord?  If not, pray now to do just that.  Dear God, My Creator and Sustainer, You know everything there is to know about me.  You created me, knitting me together in my mother’s womb.  It is no use hiding my weaknesses and flaws from You, for You know everything about me.  I’ve been hiding from myself but I no longer want to do that.  Lord, show me my weaknesses and help me dedicate them to You, that Your power can be made perfect within me, that I can offer these things to You for Your glory.  In Jesus’ Holy name I pray.  Amen.  

If you chose to prayer either of these prayers, or if you have prayer needs of your own, please let me know so I can pray with you and seek God to be with you.  In the meantime, take note of the things you perceive as flaws or weaknesses, and consider the ways God might use them for His glory!  You can have confidence knowing that He can use you just as you are, and more importantly, He loves you just as you are.  God bless you. 

To respond and share with others at this site, click on ‘comments’ below the title of this post.  To share privately with me, contact me at ReneeMyers@carolina.rr.com  .  I hope to hear from you.  

ADDITIONAL NOTE:  After writing this post I checked out my online Encouragement for Today from Proverbs 31 Ministries.  I was pleasantly surprised to find that today’s message goes right along with this one!  For another perspective related to this topic, go to www.Proverbs31.org and find the devotion posted for March 7, 2008, written by Renee Swope.   Subscriptions to these devotions are FREE.  You can subscribe at their website.  As a Proverbs 31 volunteer who assists with these devotions, I highly encourage you to do so!  🙂

