The LORD your God is in your midst,  The Mighty One, will save;
      He will rejoice over you with gladness,
      He will quiet you with His love,
      He will rejoice over you with singing.”

Zephaniah 3:17   (NKJV)

With my younger son spiking high fevers yesterday and throughout the night, today had the promise of being a second day spent at home, on the couch with him, making sure he was ok.  Except for his being so sick, that was fine with me.  You see, today is my 46th birthday and I realized I’ve reached the age where I’d prefer to let my birthday come and go with little or no fanfare. 

Additionally, my husband has been sick and/or out of town all week,  so he hasn’t able to do any birthday shopping or take our sons out shopping either.  So, with both my husband and son not feeling well and no birthday prep done, it was decided that we’d just celebrate later when everyone was feeling better.  I know kids get into birthdays and that the boys would want to go through the customary birthday traditions, but postponing my birthday suited me just fine. 

Yes.  I just wanted to pursue this as an ordinary day and let the advancing of my age happen quietly.  I don’t FEEL 46, so why make a big recognition of the number?!

My thoughts, attitude and perspectives changed, though, when I began my morning prayer.  I always begin by thanking God for the new day and I couldn’t help thanking Him for granting me the start of another new year.  He’s blessing me with good health, a great marriage and family, a good life, and wonderful and exciting opportunities for serving Him. 

Besides, scripture tells me that the LORD is in my midst and He rejoices over me with gladness and singing!  (Zephaniah 3;17 NKJV)  Shouldn’t I respond in kind to Him by rejoicing with gladness and singing because He is with me and is granting me another day and another year?  

This verse also tells me that He will quiet me with His love, and He did.  He quieted my ungrateful attitude about getting older.  He didn’t do it by scolding me, but with His love, gently prodding my thougths as I prayed to Him. 

 How could I have been so blase about having another birthday?  I have so much for which to be thankful and so many reasons for rejoicing in His name! 

Attitude adjusted!  Bring on the day, Lord!  Bring on many more days!  I’ve often said that 1) Time is my most valuable commodity; and 2) Time is a precious gift.  We need to open  it carefully and use it wisely. 

Whether it’s a special day or just a seemingly ordinary day, praise God and celebrate the day – EVERY day.  🙂

“This is the day that the Lord has made.  Let us rejoice and be glad in it.”  Psalm 118:24.   

 I WILL rejoice and be glad in it!  Thank you, Lord!  I love You! 

