Hello, I’m sorry that I’ve been a no-show at my own site this past week.  My absence is partly due to problems with internet connection – we keep losing connection! 

He has made everything beautiful in its time.   He has also set in eternity the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end.      – Ecclesiastes 3:11

As mentioned previously, I lost a dear uncle last week and have been missing him already.  Then, yesterday we received news that my father-in-law was dying and there probably wouldn’t be time for my husband to get there to see him.  He passed away a short time later.  Then came the news that Tara, mentioned in previous posts, passed away in the morning, too, losing her courageous and inspirational battle with cancer. 

This will be an eventful weekend.   My uncle’s memorial service is tomorrow.  Calling hours for my father-in-law are Sunday, and his burial will be Monday.  Sadly I will miss Tara’s service, as I will be with my husband’s family. 

Although these things bring sadness, they also bring joy.  God has chosen to relieve and lift up two wonderful people who were suffering.  Wave is now walking for the first time in 20 years after an accident left him a quadriplegic – someone I spoke with yesterday said he might even be running!  Tara is beautiful, well, and whole again.  Neither is suffering.  Both are basking in the radiance of the Lord’s presence in heaven.  And as my husband noted yesterday, his dad joined his sweetheart in heaven on Valentine’s Day.  (His mother died from cancer several years ago. )

Unfortunately, we live in a world where accidents happen, causing our existing lives to be shattered and forever changed – like the one that took my healthy, athletic, fit father-in-law and rendered him paralyzed.  However, my husband has said many times that his dad’s accident might have saved his life, forcing him to slow down and change a highly stressful lifestyle that was surely killing him at the time.  He and his sisters would rather have had his dad in a handicapped condition, than not at all – and it was a miracle he survived the severity of the accident. 

I do not know why Tara had to fall victim to a cancer that took her young life, or why God didn’t choose to heal her.  But I do know that Tara brought the Lord much glory as she drew upon her faith to be strong, brave, and courageous in battle, and that through her many lives were touched, inspired, and drawn closer to God. 

Be thankful for what you have.  Make the most of your circumstances whatever they may be.  Reach out and make better those situations and relationships that are broken, hurting, suffering, or need to be improved.  Do not take today or anyone you love for granted.  Make sure others know the good things you feel about them.  Let go of grudges.  Forgive others even if they haven’t asked you to do so. Forgive them again, if necessary.  Most importantly, share all that you can with God and trust Him to lead you as you should go.  At the end of each day thank God and praise Him for the good of that day.  Each morning rise to offer him your best for His glory. 

Grace and peace,

Renee

