I just received word tonight that someone dear to my heart, a friend from church for whom I’ve spent much time in prayer, is losing her battle with cancer.  Heaven awaits. 

Upon receiving this news I broke down in tears.  I had no words, just tears. 

Then came the questions.  There were many, but they all came back to, “Why, God?” 

God did not answer that question, but He did direct my thoughts back to one word – ‘heaven’.  My friend is being called to heaven.  What a glorious thing!   I’m no expert on the subject, but I do remember how wonderful heaven sounds from the way it’s described in the Bible, mostly in the Book of Revelation.  (See Revelation 21:10 – 22:6 in your Bible or go to www.biblegateway.com and enter those passages.)

The Bible tells us of the magnificent grandeur and beauty of heaven – also called the new Jerusalem.  It will be a place where there is no darkness -no sin, evil, or suffering.  In heaven we will be made new.  There will be peace.  And the most wonderful part of being in heaven is that the Bible tells us that there will be no sun or moon because they won’t be needed.  Heaven will be lit by the radiant presence of the Lord.  Can you imagine being so close to the presence of the Lord that everything around you will be illuminated by His Spirit?   Oh, how warm and golden that lumination must be. 

That golden, glorious place awaits my friend. 

It grieves me that it wasn’t God’s will to heal my friend, but it has been His will to reveal Himself to her, her family, and those who have been rallying around her in amazing ways.  It is also His will to lead her on to the magificence and glory of heaven. 

Of course I still hope that an unexpected miracle is in store for my friend, and wouldn’t that be something to praise about?!  But if that is not to be so, I’ll still be able to praise my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, for coming down to this earth, offering salvation to all who believe in Him, that those who believe will have everlasting life with Him in heaven – especially knowing that my friend will be called by Him to live in such a wonderful place as heaven. 

He who is the faithful witness to all these things says, “Yes, I am coming soon!” 

Amen!  Come, Lord Jesus! 

The grace of the Lord Jesus be with you all. 

– Revelation 22:20-21

