Happy are those who hear the joyful call to worship,  for they will walk in the light your presence, Lord.   – Psalm 89:15

What comes to mind when you think of the word ‘worship’? 

I used to think that ‘worship’ was a noun (people, place or thing) in the sense that it was an event I attended on Sunday mornings at church.  We’d go to worship – to an event where I’d hope to hear good music and be able to understand the sermon, not be too bored.  Worship for me was something I went to, not something I felt in my heart.

Now that I’ve come to love the Lord and truly recognize Him as the one who gave His life to cover my sins, worship is so much more.  Worship is still a noun for me, but in a much different way.  It’s a feeling in my heart for God, Jesus, and the power of the Holy Spirit.  Worship is no longer an event that I attend where I hope to be entertained in a religious way. 

Worship is also a verb.  It’s what I do!  I look forward all week to Sunday morning when I can go to church and worship my Father and my Savior.  I go to worship service so I can give praise and thanks, so  I can receive instruction from the Word.  Sometimes I receive correction from the Word.  Always I’m fed and inspired by the Word, the Living Word of the Holy Bible.

Webster’s defines worship as: (noun) 1. reverence or devotion for a deity; religious homage or veneration b) a church service or other rite showing this 2 extreme devotion or intense love or admiration of any kind; … (verb) 1 to show religious devotion or reverence for; adore or venerate as a deity 2 have intense love or admiration for; adore or idolize – vi. to engage in worship, or perform an act of religious devotion; specif., to offer prayers, attend church services, etc.

Unfortunately, the word worship is used more in society today in relation to professional athletes than it is in religious terms.  Although people might attend church, they’re often just going through the motions – like I used to do – and not coming before the Lord with a heart that seeks to honor and praise Him. 

Worship doesn’t just have to be done in church. I worship God at home when I take time to pray and seek His presence during my day.  I also worship when I’m listening to Christian music and lifting my heart in praise; and I’m worshiping Him when I’m in Bible study – in fellowship with others as we, too, offer our prayers and commit our time, hearts, and minds to going deeper into the teaching of His Word. 

Again, I ask, “What comes to mind when you hear the word ‘worship’? 

As we proceed through the advent season and celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior, think about the Wise Men who traveled  two years to kneel before the King of Kings and present Him with the finest gifts they had to offer.  They came with more than just frankincense, gold, and myrrh.  They came with the most important gifts of all, hearts of worship for Christ, the newborn King.   

