Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; acknowledge Him in all your ways and He will direct your paths.      Proverbs 3:5-6 

Our church is going through turmoil as a result of two recent major changes.  First we were informed via a statement by our Bishop that our Senior Pastor would not be returning from a 90-day renewal leave, which is a program offered by the Methodist church to pastors.  We are now in the process of waiting for a new Sr. Pastor to be announced.  People were stunned and shocked when this was first announced, but the congregation pulled together and was moving forward in positive ways.  Then, today we received word that our Youth Pastor had been fired.  There are no known charges or accusations against him.  He has been a highly respected and much-loved Pastor.  The sermon he delivered two weeks ago was excellent.  Possibly one of his best that I’ve heard.  Budget constraints were cited as the reason for his dismissal. 

This is upsetting to me, and I want to react.  I want to demand to know what’s going on, but this is not about me or what I want.  As much as I want to respond with emotion, God keeps me in check by reminding me to trust in Him. 

Our prayer group met this morning at the exact same time the meeting was taking place when our pastor was being let go.  I knew crucial decisions were being made, so we began by specifically praying that those who were making the decisions would be God-led.  We lifted our hopes and concerns to the Lord.  Now we have to trust in Him. 

I worry about what will happen to our youth pastor and his young family.  But I know God loves them and holds them in His care.  He has a plan for them (Jeremiah 29:11).  I have to trust in the Lord. 

The church is now in turmoil with people wanting to retaliate and reverse the decision.  I love those people, but I love God more and will not bow down to man.  I must maintain my trust in the Lord. 

Every time my mind starts to question and doubt the reasons for this situation, God responds again by reminding me to trust in Him.

We are so limited in our knowledge about the things around us.  Only God can see the whole picture and only He knows the plans He has for us (Jeremiah 29:11).  Job questioned God and was sternly rebuked.  Who am I to question He who surveyed the depths of the oceans and placed each star in the sky, set the world to revolve from day into night, keeps the seasons in place and created every living being, plant and organism?  God can even keep the seas within their boundaries!  Yes, God definitely knows so much more than mere men and can do things so great that our limited human minds cannot fully comprehend His greatness.  So without hesitation I put my personal emotions aside and choose to trust the Lord with all my heart. 

Friends, when you are faced with challenging and difficult situations, especially those which you don’t understand, reflect before you react by turning to the Lord in prayer.  Be honest about your feelings when you go before the Lord and seek His will for your situation.  He will give you words to say if you need them, or lead you to proper action if action is to be taken.  Or He will do with you what He did with me, which was to quiet my concerns by reminding me to trust in Him. 

Dear Lord, I may not always like or understand the situations You put before me, but I realize these things aren’t about me or what feels good to me.  I must trust in You for the greater good of Your plans and purposes.  Thank You for keeping me strong in faith.  Amen. 

