My alarm goes off at 5:00 most days with no time for more snooze.

I shower, dress, tend cat and dog, will later see the news.

By 6:00 my boys are up for school.  Buy 6:30 they’re fed and dressed.

I rush to fill a lunch box, get to the bus stop, then catch my breath.

The day is just beginning as I pray to the Lord. 

He will guide me through this day.  That’s what I’m thankful for.

 

Now it’s home to tend to child #2 and clean messes he’s already made,

Prepare his lunch, put clean dishes away, and make some lemonade.

Start the day’s laundry, take out the dog, go to the freezer for dinner meat.

Let’s go!  It’s time for the carpool line! Oh, no!  I still need to eat!

Each morning it’s a rush, it seems, to make it out the door,

But my kids are great and I can keep up.  That’s what I’m thankful for.

 

With both boys in school, my brain’s free to think.  For a while my time is my own.

I hurry to run my errands so I have time left to spend at home.

Back home I find the house is a mess with toys strewn everywhere.

The counter’s piled high with who-knows-what.  If something’s lost, look for it there!

At time I stress about the mess, but we live once and life is too short,

To fail to be glad that I have a full life, and realize that’s what I’m thankful for.

 

My husband works hard at what he does.  His job fills most hours of his week.

But the free time he has is spent being with us.  Family hours he does well to keep. 

When he travels we talk by phone as we can, and send email to share 4-1-1.

The boys miss their dad when he is away.  He’s the one they look to for fun.

He manages well the schedule he keeps, and it’s us that works so hard for.

He may be busy, but he’s loving and caring, and that’s what I’m thankful for.

 

Some days I get tired and all I want to do is fuss at my husband and boys,

Focusing on things that seem to be wrong, and lose sight of all the joys.

Then I think of the love and laughter we share, how my family brightens my days.

I think of the things my boys say and they know, for each day they keep me amazed.

I’m grateful for my husband and sons.  Truly I could not ask for more.

God blessed me with a wonderful family.  That’s what I’m thankful for.

 

There are always piles of clothes to wash, and “pending” stacks to tend to,

Crumbs to sweep, a family to feed, and lots of email to get through.

There are things for church, and things at school, and things for family,

A Bible study to keep up with…Hey, where’s my time for me?

Yes, things are crazy and hectic, but as I lift my feet off the floor

And snuggle them under the covers at night, I say prayers for all I’m thankful for.

                                                                                          – Renee Myers  11/04

This is a time for ‘thanks’ and ‘giving’.    As God has blessed you, be a blessing to others.   – RM

