I love this time of year!  Autumn is my favorite season.  Particularly pleasing is the fall foliage.  While admiring the magificent colors of the trees as I drove through our neighborhood yesterday, I was reminded of the following Bible verse:  John 15:5, “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” The verse refers to a grapevine, but the beautiful fall trees spoke the same message to me. 

Those beautiful leaves, boasting brilliant colors, can only do so because of the nourishment supplied by the trunk of the tree.  The leaves will go through changes with the seasons throughout the year – even dropping from the branches so that new leaves can be formed in the spring – while the trunk (vine) remains the same, strong and healthy, continually growing and providing nutrients to the rest of the tree.  Once a leaf, twig or branch drops from the tree, it is cut off from its source of nutrition and life, and it dies.  But as long as these things remain with the tree, they will receive all they need to thrive, be productive, and bear much beauty (fruit). 

And so it is with Christ and us.  Christ is the strong and enduring ‘trunk’ of our lives.  As long as we remain with Him and Him with us, He will give us all we need to thrive, be productive, and bear much beauty – or fruit – for Him.  Even though we might get weathered and go through seasons of change, Christ is always the same, always there to provide for us, enable us to do His will, and give us strength.  (Hebrews 13:8, “Christ is the same yeseterday, tomorrow, and forever.”)  But as the verse above says, apart from Him we can do nothing.  Like the branches, twigs and leaves that sometimes fall from the tree, if we fall away from Him, we will be cut off from the Life of His existence. 

Do you want to be a tree that displays bright, brilliant colors for your Lord and Savior?  And one who can gracefully change with the seasons of your life?  Then let Christ be your saving grace and provider for your soul. 

Dear Lord, Thank You for the beauty that surrounds me, not just the beauty of the physical world, but also the beauty You allow me to see every day by Your presence in my life.  I want to remain with You always and in all ways, that I, too, can show Your beauty to others.  In Your precious name I pray.  Amen. 

