“…The Lord, my God, lights up my darkness.”     – Psalm 18:28

“The light shines in the darkness, and darkness can never extinguish it.”  – John 1:5 

One night I looked out the window to see a full moon shining down on me.  All I could see was darkness and the circle of the light of the moon.  As I looked at the moon, it reminded me of Jesus.  No matter what, Jesus is always there, just like the moon.  When through the darkness of difficult or seemingly hopeless situations a light shines through, it is Jesus.  Sometimes the moon is hidden, covered up by clouds.  Jesus is sometimes hidden in our lives, too.  We don’t always see the moon, but we know its existence is there.  The same is true for Jesus.  Even when situations fade Him from our sight, when sin or evil seem to prevail in total darkness, in our hearts we can be sure that He is there trying desperately to make His light known.  Just as the moon is a reflection of the sun’s light, Jesus is the Son reflecting the Father’s light. 

