“This is the day that the Lord has made.  Let us rejoice and be glad in it.” 

Psalm 118:24

My 7-year old son recently broke into a happy dance and started singing, “I love today! I love today!”  He’s been playing McDonald’s Monopoly game and thought he and his brother had won $1000.  He was so excited that it made him love that very day of his existence.  His joy was infectious and the memory still makes his dad and I chuckle when we think about it.  I should note here that my son was mistaken.  He did not have the necessary game pieces to win $1000, but he’s still trying!

Today my heart is also saying, “I love today!  I love today!”  It’s not because I might have won a big prize or because anything spectacular has happened.  My reasons for loving this day are much simpler.  This is the first day in a long time that I don’t have scheduled places to be.  My sons have gone to school so my time is my own.  Rain is gently falling outside, bringing a kind of hush to the world around me. The house is in reasonably good order and I’m caught up on laundry, so I am just here, after spending relaxed and unhurried time in prayer with the Lord, in my comfy clothes, thinking about how much I love today. 

Our church is going through a time of transition, but  I see God working for the good of our church through these changes.  Members have been jolted out of complacency.  We have a renewed energy in the church and are turning inward, as we should, to focus on the Lord and committing ourselves to prayer.  I am excited to see where God is leading us!

The Lord is blessing me with wonderful and exciting ways to be of service to Him and use the gifts and talents He’s given me. 

My life is blessed with so many incredible and inspiring people.  I go to church, school, and places in the community and see people I love – many of whom have blessed  me in some way.

The most important of those I love are my family.  We love each other and have so much to be thankful for.  We live in a nice home and have filled it with lots of love.  We’re not perfect.  The house is never in perfect order.  But we’ve made Christ the cornerstone for our home and He’s blessed us for that. 

I am healthy and able to do what God leads me to do.  And today He allowed me to sit back and think about how I love today. 

Thank you, Lord.  Let me love today and every day as I seek to spend them all with You.  Amen.

