“So you see, it isn’t enough just to have faith. Faith that doesn’t show itself by good deeds is no faith at all – it is dead and useless.”

– James 2:17

You’ve probably heard the saying, “It’s what’s on the inside that counts.” I agree with that, but…the ‘outside’ is important, too.

In my previous post, Pushing Past the Plateaus, I mentioned my recent determination and struggle to lose unwanted pounds. In addition to monitoring my diet, I started doing sit-ups and push-ups every day – LOTS of sit-ups and as many push-ups as I could eek out, usually just 12-15 but that was better than none! I could feel my abdominal muscles contracting with each ab crunch and would later have tenderness in that area indicating that the muscle was indeed responding to my efforts. I was thrilled to feel the progress on the inside, but discouraged to see that it wasn’t showing on the outside!

Unfortunately, the muscle was growing faster on the inside than the fat was going away on the outside. Abdominal muscles were growing and toning, but you couldn’t tell by looking at me because the muscle was hidden by the fat. To let the goodness show through from the inside, I had to work on the outside, too!

The same can be true for our faith and Christian hearts. We can hold all the good Christian thoughts, beliefs and ideas of faith possible in our heads and hearts, but they’re not much good if they can’t be seen from the outside! The Book of James tells us that faith without works is dead. That’s harsh, but it’s true. As Christians we’re called to share Christ with others in actions, words, and deeds. If we keep it all inside, we not serving Christ because we’re not serving others.

So, yes, it’s what’s on the inside that counts, but it only counts if it can be seen on the outside, too!

Sunny day blessings to all,

Renee

