Below are two versions of the 23rd Psalm, a classic for bringing comfort and soothing the soul.  The first version is as it appears in the bible.  The second version is a paraphrase I wrote to make it more personal when claiming it for oneself in thought or prayer. 

“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.  He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters.

He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil, My cup runs over.   Surely goodness and mercy will follow me All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”

Claiming its truths (my paraphrased version):

The Lord will tend to me, I will want for nothing.  He calls me to rest in the cool and comforting softness of His beauty.  He takes me to a place of calm where even the waters are stilled by His presence.

He refreshes my soul. He calls for me to follow Him along the ways that are right and good To bring glory to His name.

Although I face the depths of death around me, Evil will not scare me; For You are with me; Your direction and protection give me comfort.

You bless me in view of my enemies; You claim me by anointing me with oil, I am blessed in abundance. 

In Him, I can be sure that goodness and mercy will be with me forever, And forever I will remain in Him.       Amen. 

To respond, click on ‘comments’ below the title.

