“Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ,…”  – Romans 5:1

A hard fall on our driveway last week led to my neck being out of alignment by about 39 degrees, and the jolt to my body caused many aches and pains.  I felt like I’d been beaten up by the next day. 

Coincidentally, by the end of the week, my inner self was out of alignment, too.  Events at VT,  the news and concern for the 11-year old son of a very dear church member who was diagnosed with cancer, and personal struggles to find answers for direction all contributed to my feelings of being off-center and out of balance. 

A good chiropractic team was able to give much needed relief to my physical problems, making the necessary adjustments to relieve the pressure in my spine and stress in my muscles. 

Realigning my inner-self wasn’t as quick and easy, but the results were certainly worth the effort it took to achieve them.  Just as I sought trusted medical help for my body, I sought God’s help to justify what was off-center within me.  Not only did I pray to Him, I sought the prayers of trusted friends, too.  It was amazing to see how God took over as soon as I gave the control to Him. 

As I was seeking prayer support from friends via email, another dear friend was sending me a message that just happened to include one of my favorite verses, Jeremiah 29:11-13, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.    God was sending His message to me at that very moment.  And at that moment, what I heard was the last part of the verse:  “Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.  You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. ”

 God was telling me to come to Him in prayer, and that when  I was ready to seek Him with ALL my heart, He would be there to listen.  Troughout the day I received unexpected encouragements from others, including my husband, and knew they were God’s way of letting me know that He was there and understood what was going on.  What peace and assurance that gave me!

It was late that night before I could go before the Lord for a heart-to-heart meeting, and when I did, I was confident that His response would soon follow.  Sure enough, by the end of our sermon in church yesterday, God’s messages became clear to me.  The music and sermon, and personal messages shared in the service were uplifting, inspiring hope and peace of mind in response to the violence at VT and our concern for the boy with cancer.  Word of God speak…indeed it did!  By the time I left church, my inner-self was standing up straight again in proper alignment. 

And just as the chiropractor sends me home with tips for staying physically aligned, I’ll follow the spiritual disciplines of praying daily (and often!) and reading God’s Word every day, to keep me spiritually aligned. 

How are you feeling?  Could your inner-self use a little adjusting?  If so, I have the perfect Spiritual Adjuster for you!  You’ll find Him in prayer when you seek Him with all your heart, too! 

Dear God, What a truly awesome God You are, being there for all who were grieving this past week, tending to a boy and His family who needed to cling to You , and able to respond my needs in the midst of so many other things.  Thank You for being there to lead and guide me and justify my inner-self through Your truths and love.  May I always seek to share Your truth and love with others in a way that helps them to be spiritually aligned, as well.  In Your holy name I pray.  Amen. 

To respond, click on ‘comments’ below the title. 

