I don’t like the blame game.  The media plays it every time there is a crisis or tragedy, and they’ve been at it full force this week regarding the VT events.  Does anyone really think that someone at VT is responsible for what Cho did?  Or that anyone there could have forseen to this magnitude what he might do one day?  If so, don’t you think they’d have done what they could to stop it? 

I do wish a lockdown had been enforced after the first murders, but even that wouldn’t have guaranteed that a bloody carnage wouldn’t have happened.  Cho was determined to carry out his plans. 

But if the media is going to insist that we play the blame game, then let me say this: WE ARE ALL TO BLAME.   From what I’ve learned about Cho in recent days, I believe that he has felt terribly wronged by the world for a long time.  Further, I think it stems from a bad experience when he was younger, possibly molestation, that was never properly dealth with; and that situation led to domino effect of mental and emotional problems for him.  Instead of dealing with him, the world just kept tossing him aside or passig him by.  Eventually an unimaginable rage began to grow inside him. 

Although many may hate and despise Cho, the VT killer, I am sorry for him.  I am horrified by what he did, but my heart goes out to him because I feel he was so wronged by the world.  

Cho seemed to respond to those who reached out to him.  Even though his roommates did not like him and were wary of him, they tried to help him.  People wonder why he didn’t kill them, too.  I think it’s because they at least took notice of him and treated him respectfully. 

A teacher who had concerns about Cho offered to tutor him hoping she could help him or get him to open up.  He didn’t have to go to tutoring, but he did.  He responded to her when she reached out to him.  She seemed very nurturing. 

Although many say they never heard him speak, and some even offered to pay him to say something, he took a theatre class as an elective.  That’s odd! Why would someone as introverted as Cho choose to pursue drama?  Because that’s where he found his voice.  He wrote a scathing, chilling play as his way of speaking out. 

And what about the video he left behind?  That was his way of telling all of us that we messed up.  Did he do it as a way of spitting in our faces?  Possibly that was part of it, but I also think he was trying one last time to make us ‘get it’, to see what we did wrong.  He said we’d had a hundred million ways to prevent this situation (or something like that).  To me that means that there have been numerous times in his life where we could have chosen to respond differently to him, to treat him differently, but we didn’t. 

When Cho likened himself to Jesus Christ, I don’t think he was trying to elevate himself to Jesus’ importance.  Instead, I think he was trying to say that just like Jesus died at the hand of many – not because of one particular person or group of people – he, too, felt persecuted in the same way. 

The horrible irony in all of this is that, according to some of the written evidence he left behind, Cho was disgusted by all the immorality and superficiality around him and his unspeakable acts were a rebellion to those behaviors.  I say this is a horrible irony because he responded in the most immoral and unacceptable way possible. 

Why does all this matter?  He’s gone now.  Well, it matters to me because I am sorry for what the world appears to have done to Cho, and as a result to the innocent people who died because of his actions.  As a Christian, ALL of these people were my brothers and sisters – INCLUDING CHO.   If the world wronged him, then I wronged him, too, and I want to learn from this so that I can do my best not to repeat past mistakes.

Dear God, Help me to recognize the hurts and pain of others so that I can respond in a way that makes things better, not worse.  Let me be part of the soution, not an addition to the problem.  Amen.

CLOSING THOUGHT:   Those who are the hardest to love, are the ones who need love the most.    – Renee Myers

To respond, click on the word ‘comments’ below the title.

