As much as I’d like to be like the apostle Paul who is bold and couragous in his faith and always seems to say and do the right things – even in tough situations, the truth is I’m more like Peter who would often speak first and think later. 

All too often I’m guilty of saying the wrong things or saying them in the wrong way.  It’s not usually my actions that incriminate me, but my words.

The situation with Don Imus this past week is a good example of the trouble our tongues can get us into. 

Does your tongue woo or wound? 

The bible says many things about the tongue that wounds.  Following are just a few verses for example:

Psalm 10:7 – Their mouths are full of cursing, lies, and threats. Trouble and evil are on the tips of their tongues.     

Psalm 52:2 –Your tongue cuts like a sharp razor; you’re an expert at telling lies.

Psalm 140:3 – Their tongues sting like a snake;…

Psalm 64:3 – They sharpen their tongues like swords and aim their bitter words like arrows.

Ouch! 

Let us seek to have a tongue that woos.   Following are scriptures to encourage a tongue that speaks of love and good things:

Psalm 16:9 – Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;…   (NIV)

Psalm 35:28 – My tongue will speak of your righteousness and of your praises all day long.  (NIV) 

(How would those around you benefit if your tongue spoke of righteousness and praises all day long?)
 

Psalm 34:13 – And keep your tongue from speaking evil and your lips from telling lies!  (NLT)

Proverbs 13:3 – Those who control their tongue will have a long life; opening your mouth can ruin everything.   (NLT)

(This one is good advice for me!  Just ask my husband!)

Psalm 119:72 – Let my tongue sing about your word, for all your commands are right.   (NLT)

Proverbs 10:20 – The tongue of the righteous is choice silver… (NIV)

Proverbs 12:18 –  the tongue of the wise brings healing.  (NIV)

(Our words have the power to heal a wounded heart, mend rifts in relationships, and sooth a hurting soul.)
 

Proverbs 15:4 – Gentle words are a tree of life; a deceitful tongue crushes the spirit.  (NLT)

(Words should be gentle…our tongue can crush the spirit.  How do I speak to my children?) 

Proverbs 31:26 –  She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue.     

(Hmmm…How have I spoken today?  Was I wise with faithful instruction?  No.  I’ll have to work on this one.)

Proverbs 18:21 – The tongue can bring death or life;those who love to talk will reap the consequences.      (NLT)

Lord, You know I love to talk.  Help me to bring life with my words and let the consequences bring glory to You.  Amen.

To respond, click on ‘comments’ below the title.

