I love the widely used bedtime prayer that starts with, “Now I lay me down to sleep…”  However, as each of my sons got old enough to think about what they were saying, they felt uncomfortable with the part that says, “…and should I die before I wake…”  Somewhere I found a version of that prayer where someone had changed that verse to say, ‘Thy love be with us through the night, and guide us ’til the morning night.”  That was acceptable to them and so we said that version until a few years ago when I came up with the following prayer:

Dear God, Thank you for this wonderful day, and all the good things you sent our way.  Please be with us, keep us in your care, and be with people we love everywhere.   Amen. 

I share these prayers with you in case they’re prayers you and your children would like to say. 

PRAY AND MAKE IT  A GREAT DAY!… OR NIGHT! 

