– Hebrews 10:24     Let us consider how to stimulate one another to love and good deeds.     

 What motivates you to do something?

Recently I’ve been motivated by the ‘regulars’ I see out walking and exercising and by fit-looking people I see.  It’s been on my mind that I need to start exercising.  I feel better when I exercise regularly and I need to trim down.  My pants all started ‘shrinking’ lately!  However, even though I wanted to feel better and fit into my clothes again, I couldn’t motivate myself to start exercising.  That’s when sitings of the  ‘regulars’ started tugging at my conscience.  I’ve even mentioned to a lady who lives on our street who is a regular walker that I need to start walking, too. 

Well, last week I finally started walking again!  Yay!  As I passed by the lady who lives on our street (who was also out walking, of course), I yelled over to her to tell her that she finally rubbed off on me! 

As I continued walking, it occured to me that much of what we do is influenced and inspired by others.  My desire to become more spiritually ‘fit’ several years ago is a perfect example.  When I needed to feel better and found that my ‘life clothes’ weren’t fitting well anymore, I turned to church and a bible study.  There I was greatly influenced by the ‘regulars’ who devoted themselves to their daily practices of reading the bible and praying.  As I got better acquainted with them, I discovered that they tried to practice spiritual fitness in all aspects of their lives, not just in their daily ‘exercises’. 

Their spiritual ‘exercises’ and practices seemed to pay off.  They were spiritually ‘fit’.   They were happy and at peace, even in difficult times.  Their ‘life clothes’ looked good on them!  They motivated me to want to be more like them! 

The flip side of all this is that just as we are often motivated by others, others might be motivated by us!  Husbands, wives, children, family, neighbors, friends, strangers you meet along life’s way might be inspired or influenced by the way you live your life.  Are you setting a good example? 

Our pastor used a good quote recently to say that Christians should make every effort they can whenever they can to win others to Christ, and “when necessary, to use words.”  I’m sorry that I don’t remember the entire quote or who said it, but the point was that the examples we set by the way we live our lives and the things we do are often more effective than the things we say. 

Do you need to be motivated in some way?  If so, then I pray that you will find good influences to guide you.  Might you be motivating or influencing others?  Probably you are!  I pray that you will live by the ways of the Lord to make good on the ways you lead others. 

Dear Heavenly Father, Thank you for those who make a positive difference in our lives, inspiring us to live better and do better.  Please lead us in our lives so that we can do the same for others, setting good examples of right living and godly living, that we might better serve and glorify You.  In Jesus’ Name I pray, Amen. 

