If you you’ve raised small children, you can likely recall various times when they’ve insisted on doing things themselves even when it was obvious that some assistance was needed.  My younger son is six years old and still insists on doing things himself.  Often he struggles and gets frustrated, but is too stubborn – uh, I mean ‘determined’ – to let anyone help him.  Sometimes I admire his determination, but other times I end up frustrated because we need to do things the quickest or simplest way at the time and he affects others by refusing help. 

It’s very likely that God feels the same way about us at times.  All too often we insist on doing things all by ourselves, in our own way, and according to our own timing.  We don’t allow ourselves to let others help or make suggestions.  We don’t need to!  We’re in control!   And we certainly don’t need God’s help!  We are often in too much of a hurry to give things to God in prayer, so we rush forward with our own limited efforts.  In other situations we’re reluctant to pray about situations because we don’t want to admit our needs, and/or we don’t want to have to do things differently if God’s way differs from our own. 

I can just imagine God looking down and shaking his head at us the way we shake our heads at others who seem stubborn or too self-reliant for their own good.  Just as I long to help my son when he’s struggling needlessly, God longs to help us. 

I’ve finally learned that Father really does know best.  His way is always better than my way, and He often finds a way to make things happen even when situations seem hopeless or impossible to me.  Yes, the Lord IS my helper.   Is He yours? 

Dear God, Please forgive me for the times I fail to see my need for You.  And thank you for always being there, waiting for us to finally give in and seek your help.  Lord, I pray that someone who might be struggling with something that’s too much for them to handle will turn to You and prayerfully put their trust in You.  You’re always there for me.  I’m so thankful that You are indeed my Helper.  In Jesus’ Name I pray.  Amen. 

