Matthew 5:23-24  “So if you are standing before the altar in the Temple, offering a sacrifice to God, and you suddenly remember that someone has something against you, leave your sacrifice there beside the altar.  Go and be reconciled to that person.  Then come and offer your sacrifice to God. 

It’s been on my mind to apologize to someone for criticisms I made in a written message.  Then this verse started coming to mind the past couple of days and I realized that I had to give her my apology before I could begin my sacrifice for Lent. 

This all began several months ago when I expressed disapproval for remarks that a fellow Christian made.  She hadn’t said anything bad.  I simply disagreed with her response to something.  At the time I felt I’d done the right thing in expressing my opinion.  However, later I regretted my actions, acknowledging that she is a very Spirit-filled and Spirit-led person who was acting in accordance with what God had put in her heart.  Who was I to question that?!  I felt so ashamed of myself. 

We have exchanged occasional emails since that time.  Being the Godly person that she is, she has never made a reference to my criticisms.  In fact, she has been very Christ-like showing me nothing but kindness and grace. 

Remembering the words of Matthew above, I ‘left the altar’ tonight and sent a written apology to her knowing that it was time to ‘go and be reconciled’.  It feels so good to have done that!  Now I can return to the altar with a clear conscience ready to make my sacrifice.

Is there anyone with whom you need to be reconciled?  If so, go and be reconciled!  Your heart will thank you and Christ will be pleased with you. 

