Romans 13:7 “…give respect and honor to those who are in authority.”  (NIV)

Today is Presidents’ Day and I’m reminded of my disgust a few days ago when I saw that the Dixie Chicks won a prestigious award for their musical achievements.  They were one of my favorite country music groups until they spoke out quite unfavorably about President Bush, going so far as to say they were ashamed to be from the same home state as him.  Their comments that day were terribly disrespectful toward the President and the soldiers recently deployed to serve and defend our great nation in the wake of 9/11.  

The lead singer of the Dixie Chicks later gave a public and insincere apology.  Not long after, when asked if she had any regrets about her remarks against the President and the incidents that followed, she said her only regret was that she had apologized publicly to the President. 

The bible doesn’t command us to agree with authority, but the words of Paul tell us that we are to “respect and honor those who are in authority”.  On this Presidents Day, I am grateful for President Bush and the Christian witness he bears for all the world to see.  I am also grateful for our former presidents who stepped up to serve our country and protect the freedoms we so often take for granted- including the freedoms that allow me to share these thoughts with you. 

Dear Lord, Today I thank you for the presidents of our past who served to make the USA a blessed nation.  I also thank you for President Bush and his Christian leadership, and ask that you continue to lift and guide him by your Holy Spirit, that we would continue to be a blessed nation.  In Jesus’ Name, Amen. 

Blessings to all,

Renee

